New to Civ5: How do I get "non-Vanilla"

carbontaxes

Chieftain
Hey guys I'm new to Civ5 (loving it) however, not sure how to get non-vanilla. For instance, I cannot play or ever play against a Spain or Babylon. This seems to be the biggest sign of playing vanilla. I don't even know how many more civs are available or general options that are available in non-vanilla.

So how do you get to that state? I mean this game is Steam-only and I hate steam but went ahead and registered on Steam and bought C5. I thought that Steam itself just goes ahead and applys whatever patches are necessary to transform C5 to whatever "non-vanilla" is supposed to be. But apparently it doesn't?

My question(s) are do I need to download a third party patch or whatever, and where on my hard drive do I look for it or is it easy to apply. Sorry, so far I just thought Steam would simply take care of all of this but I don't jack about Steam except that C5 seemed to demand that you join it to just play C5.

TYIA for any guidance.

Okay all the packages' descriptions are so vague and horrible that they cannot simply inform the buyer "hey, you get Babylon and/or Spain and/or whatever else comes with non-vanilla"

And I see that what I bought (basic C5) at full price must've been recently lowered in price lol. Oh well enough whining, but can anyone just tell me which DLC you buy to be non-Vanilla?? Is it the "Civilization V: Cradle of Civilization - DLC Bundle" or is it that and other things, or what?

I don't really get what you mean by "non-Vanilla". There is not such a thing as a full expansion, so you technically can't get the "non-Vanilla" version: it doesn't exist yet. What you can buy are small DLCs. From memory, these are:
-Babylon: you get Babylon as a playable civ, both by you and the AI
-Mongolia: you get to play as the mighty Gengis Khan (as does the AI), and you get a scenario about conquering Asia with their mighty Keshiks. Free, you should have it already.