1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

new to Civilization - a question

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Ultramncer, Feb 22, 2010.

1. Ultramncer

Ultramncer Chieftain

Hi all...
    I am new to Civilization IV. I have just one question: are unit promotions truly cumulative? That is, if I first promote a unit to +10%, and later promote to city raider, will that unit now have a +30% when attacking a city? I would appreciate if someone would let me know, thanks...

2. Woodreaux

Woodreaux Chieftain

Yep. If you're interested in learning how promo's work, check out some of Piece of Mind's articles. This is a really good one on First Strikes.

3. Deckhand

Deckhand Procrastination at its finest GOTM Staff

Not exactly. But close enough for now.
    ---
    for later,
    The combat +10% is to your unit's base strength. Swordsman 6 *1.1 = 6.6
    The city raider (and all other offensive promotions) actually takes away from defender's adjustments.
    So, if attacking an archer fortified in a city with a swordsman with combat 1 and city raider:
    6 * 1.1 = 6.6 versus
    3 * (+50% city defense + 25% fortified - 20% city raider) = 3 * 1.55 = 4.65

as mentioned above, PieceOfMind is the real expert here.
    ---
    But the answer to your general question, is yes promotions stack.

Let's take the same archer, put its city on a hill and give it city garrison III and guerilla II:
    +50% for city; +25% for hills; +20,+25,+30,+10 (vs melee) for City Garrison III, +20, +30 for Guerilla II; +25 if garrisoned = +235% = 3 * 3.35 = 10.05