New Trade Route System

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by kingchris20, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    Nehwon
    And the road-related trade route connection to the capital does not appear to have changed.
     
  2. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    i want to know if i can have 4 trade routes in one city? if i only got one coastal city early in the game i will need all 4 trading ships to use in that city. Do we only get 4 trading ships? 6 or 8 ships would be mutch better.
     
  3. SMA333M

    SMA333M Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Romania
    Galactic Civilization + Total War + Call to Power II. :)

    It will be great. And even more important: the wars will be really interesting, having to protect your trade routes too.
     
  4. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,444
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This is a question I would like to know too. It has made me think about the city modifiers for gold (and production). Will the international trade incomes (gold, production and food) affected by the city modifiers? I know that having a market would increase the income by 2 but was that a plain addition or from the modifiers (or maybe you would have both)?
    As for now i think the modifiers will not affect the int. trade income, because that would give too much income...
     
  5. micbucci

    micbucci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Connecticut, U.S.A.
    I would love to have the ability to send or receive nukes via the trade route system. Currently on Civ V you can only give units as gifts but you cannot sell them. I would like to see that changed. I would also like the option of having the ability to sell/gift nuclear weapons as I think this should at least be optionable in the advanced setup.
     
  6. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    The game would take like 45 hours to finish.
     
  7. Fummy

    Fummy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    So they got rid of the gold in river-tiles, and gold in coastal water tiles, right? They said that you will be able to make up for this by making actual trade routes from these places to earn money, sounds good so far. But when I think about it, what is the advantage of rivers now? I get that being by the ocean allows you to make ocean trade routes, but being by a river would make no difference.

    So whats the point of rivers now? Other than to be an obstacle. How do rivers help trade?
     
  8. Kennan

    Kennan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Sweden
    Rivers are still good but a river start won't be OP as in G&K and Vanilla.
    You still get:
    Watermill
    Earlier +1 on farms
    Build farms on hills
    Hydro plant
    Bonus from some beliefs
     
  9. Avatan

    Avatan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ok i can't find the quote right now, but I remember reading that roads helped you have longer inland trade routes. Maybe roads are not counted in the 10 hexes? Or just half?

    So I suspect that it will be similar with rivers, which would make sense and be useful for early international trading because 10 hexes is really not a lot.
     
  10. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,624
    I suspect being adjacent to a river will just add another bonus to the trade-route calculation.

    The thing that has me concerned is that I don't share the assumption that you'll be able to have lucrative trade routes just because you can build a caravan. I mean, the Huns and Assyria may not care about exchanging trade routes with you.
     
  11. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    Nehwon
    I think that's the biggest open question: whether you are limited to one trade route per city. I don't see any reason why there should be a limitation per city; you're already limited as to the total number of trade routes, so I don't see any reason why having more than one per city would be a problem.

    And another good reason to keep friendly relations with some civilizations.

    Since rivers should be key to trade, I hope they will include some benefit in the new trade route system from rivers. But I haven't seen anything about this, and it's not obvious how such as mechanism might work.

    I haven't seen any mention of the impact of roads on trade routes. Roads didn't even appear to significantly increase the speed of the Caravan in the PAX demo.
     
  12. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,960
    The best analogy for trade units that we have right now is air units, since you can only control them in cities. If it follows that pattern then you should be able to have multiple trade routes operating out of one city. The difference between trade units and air units is that trade units have a manifestation on the map as they move to their destination over the course of several turns.
     
  13. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    Nehwon
    Right, the only thing that I can think of that would restrict trade routes to one per city would be if multiple trade units can't stack in the same city; allowing it would require a UI similar to Air units.

    Here's hoping they allow stacking of Air, Trade AND Civilian units!
     

Share This Page