Status
Not open for further replies.

Recursive

Already Looping
Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
3,880
Location
Antarctica
Hey all,

New version inbound, just in time for 4/20 - whatever that may mean to you!

Includes a few cool new features as well as some AI changes and key bugfixes, courtesy of @ilteroi, @Milae, @Rekk and myself.

Changelog:
Code:
General
- City cycling with Venice now includes puppets
- Internal change to how 'areas' are defined on the map, mostly for AI usage
- Added DLL integration for balparmak's experimental unit production AI changes (not yet enabled by default)
- Added DLL custom mod option to only award XP on a unit's first attack in a turn
- Blocked compatibility with old versions of (3), (4) and (5) mods
- Fixed text issues

One City Challenge
- The city conquest popup now appears with this option enabled
- This provides a turn to move Great Works out of the city before selecting its fate
- Cities can now be liberated (if possible)
- The option to raze instantly destroys the city as usual, but now also triggers effects for razing a city (e.g., Timurids modmod UA)

Resource Diversity Modifier
- Now only counts each type of resource once. Multiple copies of the same resource in a city are ignored
- Now counts Strategic and Bonus resources as well

Units
   Inquisitor
   - If stationed in or next to a city, now correctly reduces the strength of enemy Missionary and Prophet conversions by half

   Impi
   - Can now fortify again
   - If its free ranged attack kills the target, an attack is now expended

   Giant Death Robot
   - If its free ranged attack kills the target, an attack is now expended
   - Gains Amphibious so that it can step over rivers with its huge legs

City-State Unit Gifting Quest
- Won't request Conquistadors or any other unit with settling abilities (bugfix)
- Won't request boats as gifts if your capital and theirs aren't both coastal
- Won't request any unit class they're unable to build themselves (scouts, aircraft carriers, etc.)
- More likely to request a major civ's unique units over standard units

AI
- Automated workers will remove Marsh tiles even if "Preserve Forests/Jungles" option is enabled
- Improvements to tactical AI, including better handling of garrisons and citadels
- Adjustments to AI's "should I forward settle?" check
- AI should now properly handle Great Generals/Admirals in armies again

Bugfixes
- Fixed deal AI bug allowing you to add "IMPOSSIBLE!" items like capitulation to low warscore peace treaties
- Fixed a significant AI military strength perception bug (military rating wasn't decaying over time)
- Fixed XP limit for City-States/Barbarians not applying if the city itself was attacked
- Fixed ability to select a free Great Prophet before founding a religion as the Maya
- Fixed a bug in Milae's Alternative Difficulty modmod
- Fixed units not being able to be promoted upon creation/purchase
    New logic: A unit that is out of movement AND has attacked at least once this turn cannot be promoted.

Link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-lzZMaEcTMGSwLyIuiKR2tTrWK3K9GWg/view?usp=sharing

Online as of 12:56 AM CST on April 20th. Not savegame compatible.

---

Version 2.1.1
Added "automate production" feature to cities, courtesy of balparmak.
- Non-puppet, human-owned cities can have their production choices automated
- Automated cities will not produce units, buildings that require resources, or (if running an empire-wide deficit) non-defensive buildings that require Gold maintenance
- You can still manually add things to the production queue
- Automated cities can still have city focus/tiles/specialists assigned

Online as of 9:14 AM CST on April 26th. Savegame compatible with 2.1 versions.
 
Last edited:

azum4roll

Deity
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
2,243
Seems cities only attack when it's relatively safe for them to do so, as if they're melee units.

City won't attack
upload_2022-4-20_20-19-42.png


City will attack the slinger
upload_2022-4-20_20-20-1.png
 
Last edited:

myeong1129

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
40
Good to hear that Resource Diversity Modifier finally came to fit its name, but why don't we now cut the modifier to somewhere below 10%? Seems like it doesn't make a difference in game from version 2.0.3. Trade route gold yield inflation isn't still solved. In my new game I'm already receiving +80% raw RDM in the ancient era without any monopoly. The only discovered strategic resource is horse, so once I discover all strat resources and gain some monopolies I expect the modifier to go 100%+ again. Of course even more in the city with East India company.

carth.png


I wonder if it is really intended to double the whole income from trade routes cuz I've never felt short of gold even before the RDM bug got fixed. Also the overall balance of the game doesn't seem to consider this amount of income inflation at all. For instance, when you look at Portugal, the food and production yield from Feitoria got too much inflated that you gain 46.5 food and 62 production while earning 122.3 gold, when the diversity modifier is 150%.
https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/portugal.553174/page-9

Considering +25% modifier from sea trade routes is already making quite big difference from land trade routes, I suggest that RDM deserves a big big nerf. I tested 3% per resource in version 2.0.3 and still had like +57% increase maximum.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
950
It might be better to increase upgrade costs rather than nerf RDM too much.

I agree having never ending gold is way too easy in the current beta, but think making things cost more gold is the better solution.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
950
I have noticed that the AI still way under values strategic resources when it comes to trade deal requests. The problem isn't so much that they want to buy 7 of my 8 oil for 3 gpt, it's the fact that 1 or 2 AI will request this deal about every other turn. This is up there with requesting open boarders EVERY TURN from almost every AI that I don't have an OB deal with.

Not that the fact that they under value rare resources isn't a problem. Notice that they correctly value their own rare resources and usually won't hand them over at all.

I know we can turn off the AI asking for deals, but I would rather not just turn it off all together.
 

azum4roll

Deity
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
2,243
Good to hear that Resource Diversity Modifier finally came to fit its name, but why don't we now cut the modifier to somewhere below 10%? Seems like it doesn't make a difference in game from version 2.0.3. Trade route gold yield inflation isn't still solved. In my new game I'm already receiving +80% raw RDM in the ancient era without any monopoly. The only discovered strategic resource is horse, so once I discover all strat resources and gain some monopolies I expect the modifier to go 100%+ again. Of course even more in the city with East India company.

View attachment 625553

I wonder if it is really intended to double the whole income from trade routes cuz I've never felt short of gold even before the RDM bug got fixed. Also the overall balance of the game doesn't seem to consider this amount of income inflation at all. For instance, when you look at Portugal, the food and production yield from Feitoria got too much inflated that you gain 46.5 food and 62 production while earning 122.3 gold, when the diversity modifier is 150%.
https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/portugal.553174/page-9

Considering +25% modifier from sea trade routes is already making quite big difference from land trade routes, I suggest that RDM deserves a big big nerf. I tested 3% per resource in version 2.0.3 and still had like +57% increase maximum.
I thought it was supposed to only count unique resources you have but the target doesn't?
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
950
I thought it was supposed to only count unique resources you have but the target doesn't?

It's supposed to work that way.

I don't believe the AI "understands" this fact either, as they will aggressively trade away any duplicate resource it has still.

Either that, or that aspect of RDM was removed at some point.
 

myeong1129

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
40
It might be better to increase upgrade costs rather than nerf RDM too much.

I agree having never ending gold is way too easy in the current beta, but think making things cost more gold is the better solution.

But then if you were to fit everything to current trade route yield you basically have to touch everything in-game. Quite burdensome to people who are updating the game so I'm just suggesting to modify RDM. It's still going to affect the yield a lot even if you halve current amount. It's just being too much right now I insist.

I thought it was supposed to only count unique resources you have but the target doesn't?

Yeah It works just as what you said. But it also counts unique resources target city has but you don't too. So from my experience so far it usually exceeds 5 resource difference at minimum unless you are trading with your vassal's city from the city you took from them. 5 difference already earns you x1.5 of what you used to earn before. And the modifier was generally larger than my example.
 

Recursive

Already Looping
Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
3,880
Location
Antarctica
Correction: Giant Death Robots cannot now fortify. I have removed this from the changelog.

Seems cities only attack when it's relatively safe for them to do so, as if they're melee units.

City won't attack
View attachment 625543

City will attack the slinger
View attachment 625544

Please report this on Github.

It's supposed to work that way.

I don't believe the AI "understands" this fact either, as they will aggressively trade away any duplicate resource it has still.

Either that, or that aspect of RDM was removed at some point.

Deal AI treatment of resources still needs work.

However, RDM only considers the resources each city has, not each player.

But then if you were to fit everything to current trade route yield you basically have to touch everything in-game. Quite burdensome to people who are updating the game so I'm just suggesting to modify RDM. It's still going to affect the yield a lot even if you halve current amount. It's just being too much right now I insist.



Yeah It works just as what you said. But it also counts unique resources target city has but you don't too. So from my experience so far it usually exceeds 5 resource difference at minimum unless you are trading with your vassal's city from the city you took from them. 5 difference already earns you x1.5 of what you used to earn before. And the modifier was generally larger than my example.

Could reduce it to 5% rather than 10%.
 

Zanteogo

King
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
950
Recursive, would it be possible to reduce the AI repeat trade requests somehow? Particularly mid to late game?

I know we can turn it off all together, but the AI is annoying around midgame when they constantly request a few gold per turn for almost all your strategic resources and will request an open boarders EVERY TURN.

I know you are saying it's a work in progress, but would it be possible to add in some sanity check until this is fixed so the AI doesn't spam the player?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom