1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Version - February 17th (2-17)

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Gazebo, Feb 17, 2019.

  1. Rekk

    Rekk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    865
    You don't need to look at the needs tooltip to make those decisions.
     
  2. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Can we take the happiness discussion to the general balance forum. There is a very active thread on happiness as we speak, and I’m seeing duplicate discussions
     
    vyyt and dylansan like this.
  3. Noob Fanboy

    Noob Fanboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    192
    Am i the only one having problems with the new Communitas mapscript?, after playing some games i'm getting either a lot of space in a lonely continent (10+ cities with some in islands), or a totally crowded continent (4 - 5 cities without war). (I'm not used to communitas, only testing it with the new actualization)

    My settings are standard continents, strategic balance, medium sea level.
     
  4. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,168
    Location:
    Aquidneck Island
    Hotfixed posted (2-17-3), cleans up a few tactical AI anomalies and makes some adjustments to the Unhappiness UI and functional algorithm. Happiness will be a little bit harder late-game, otherwise should feel the same.

    Link: https://mega.nz/#F!DMsxkDYI!zSpR9CHpmAfWyIvMXaN3pw

    G
     
    ryanmusante and glider1 like this.
  5. Minh Le

    Minh Le Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    793
    Gender:
    Male
    Is this save game compatible? Im in the middle of a playthrough :hammer2:
     
  6. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,168
    Location:
    Aquidneck Island
    Yes.

    G
     
  7. Txurce

    Txurce Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,183
    Location:
    Venice, California
    I'm really enjoying the Communitas map. The sense of region is completely transformed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
    Gokudo01 likes this.
  8. Gokudo01

    Gokudo01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Toulouse(France)
    too many mountains but I like the new changes overall
     
    Bromar1 and MorphBer like this.
  9. vyyt

    vyyt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    How about the resource distribution? And are you getting proper oceans (= are the continents properly separated, so that early ships cannot easily reach all of them)? I am intrigued to try out the Communitas again after years, the discussion in the map thread looks very promising.
     
  10. Gokudo01

    Gokudo01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Toulouse(France)
    I pick rift as normal and I was not able to join the other continent until explorer.
    I think that if you pick large rifts with at least one pacific, you will be able to reach the other continent at sailing
     
    vyyt likes this.
  11. vyyt

    vyyt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Thanks, good to know. One of the reasons why I abandoned the Communitas map before was that it was creating these long 1-tile wide rifts between continents if you added a bit more civs. It seemed to me as if it was creating the land masses around the civ starting locations.

    Ok, enough wailing and theory-crafting, my next game will be on Communitas again :)
     
  12. Gokudo01

    Gokudo01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Toulouse(France)
    If you want to maximise the distance between continent pick double atlantic rift
     
  13. vyyt

    vyyt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Yeah, I know, thanks. There was something broken, this did not have any effect if you increased the number of civs , it was literally creating 1-tile wide canals between continents regardless of the other settings.
     
  14. Enrico Swagolo

    Enrico Swagolo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,378
    this new communitas script really has too many mountains. They're often coastal and on snaky fragments, I wouldn't want to face Inca anywhere there. There's fragments without almost any whatsoever, and some where everything is a mountain.
     
  15. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    It's actually more realistic. Vma was looking for plausibility, not strategy.
    In fact, I like to increase the occurrence of hills near mountains
     
    Txurce likes this.
  16. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,201
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    so change the age of the earth?
     
  17. pineappledan

    pineappledan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3,712
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  18. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Nope. There's an ingame function. You can manually set the percentage in the script file.
     
  19. Enrico Swagolo

    Enrico Swagolo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,378
    The communitas script file is huge, which line would I have to change (and in which direction) to reduce the quantity of mountains? I don't care for realism, having Inca spawned in such a terrain would be nuts2.wad
     
    vyyt and Gokudo01 like this.
  20. ashendashin

    ashendashin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    945
    It's not far down. Get notepad++ for easier viewing.
    mglobal.mountainScatter
    mglobal.mountainWeight
    mglobal.belowMountainPercent

    And for those that want less resources:
    function AssignStartingPlots:GetMajorStrategicResourceQuantityValues()
    function AssignStartingPlots:GetSmallStrategicResourceQuantityValues()
    They only affect the number per tile, not how many tiles spawn. You'd have to spend more time on the script than I cared to if you wanna change that.
     
    vyyt, Bromar1, glider1 and 2 others like this.

Share This Page