1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Version - September 12th (9/12)

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Gazebo, Sep 12, 2016.

  1. Vitordb

    Vitordb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1

    Hello, I've got the same problem as yours, I'm in medieval era as well and when it's the ottomans turn the game crashes :(
     
  2. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Venice, California
    My Ottomans work fine, so the problem is somewhere else.
     
  3. matlajs

    matlajs King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    i got one too. Russia DoWed Dutch and they had to do some bad stacking or smthing but i cant past that turn.
     
  4. Horvath Broncos

    Horvath Broncos Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Two more games with this patch and two DoWs before turn 100 and I love it because it makes snowballing a lot harder and the beginning of the game waaaay more challenging and realistic i suppose. The AI agressiviness/friendliness is just right in this patch for my likings atleast. I do play with rather crowded maps like 13-15 civs on large or 16-22 on huge.
     
  5. Guynemer

    Guynemer King

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    798
    Aggression/relations feel well tuned.

    Last game, the Zulus DOW'd me once it was apparent they were hemmed in on a peninsula and had nowhere else to expand; after I finished wiping them out, Ethiopia followed suit, as they were the other major power and we were competing for wonders.

    However, two minor quibbles remain. #1, it took forever for Ethiopia to agree to peace, even though I had a warscore of around +60, without really taking any cities (other than liberating one for Theodora). Shaka never agreed to peace, even when it score reached +100, and there was nothing else for me to do but take his last few remaining cities.

    Secondly, I'm still having the issue of citizens working as laborers instead of specialists, even with happiness ratings of 20 or higher (even much, much higher).
     
  6. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Venice, California
    A 75 warscore may be too high a threshold. From limited experience, 60 seems like a point where the top dog has things well in hand. Since peace can't be forced on you if you're winning and want to go all the way, I'd be in favor of lowering the threshold.
     
  7. Freaky Freddy

    Freaky Freddy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Hey Gazebo, are you considering adding retroactive promotions for military units from buildings like the Heroic Epic? You discussed it briefly in the previous patch thread.

    It would be nice not having to worry about missing something from building units early and it would probably also help the AI since i doubt it even considers these types of min-maxing quirks when building units.
     
  8. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Venice, California
    I just found the same bug. Has someone reported it to Github?
     
  9. Iamblichos

    Iamblichos Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    360
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Do you guys have spies? Crashes on reloads and on AI turn? I'm willing to bet this is an issue I found a bad pointer on a Localization variable on DLL. If so, it's fixed for next version.
     
  10. matlajs

    matlajs King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    i reported it on github, no one took a look. there are logs. and yep, it was few turns of renaisance.
     
  11. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,165
    I did not have any spies myself, but at least one AI player had entered renaissance era, so there were spies in the game at that point. Spies is also my guess, considering the changes gazebo made with the great works.
     
  12. Condotierri

    Condotierri Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    I've come across the same issue. The game crashes on loading from a previous game. I am in the medieval era and there are spies in the game.

    Loading worked previously when I wasn't in the medieval era and spies weren't in the game, so that might be the issue.
     
  13. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Yes, I had spies. Thanks a lot.
     
  14. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,168
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
  15. matlajs

    matlajs King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    i have some observations in my game. 1) renewal bug is partialy back( Rome ask me for Furs for 5GPT every turn- I made this deal once for having problem with money). 2) Ai cannot properly use Logistic promotion( Elizabeth besieging Sparta with Ships of line, they dont shot twice) 3) East india company does huge chaos in luxury count. 4) this is technical one. AI shouldnt make so much military at start unless they dont intend go in early war. in my curent game 3 civs rly felt behind in tech and will never catch up for this.
     
  16. Zanteogo

    Zanteogo King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    800
    After a few games with the new patch I have found AI civ aggressiveness is probably close to the "sweet spot". Much better than the passive AI from 2 patches ago. Good work!

    One thing I have noticed is the AI is happy to use great generals to steal your land much more now. I had a long time friend and military inferior do this a couple times. Only recourse is war.

    I have had a few CTD, but they aren't repeatable. (Going back to save and repeating steps does not cause the CTD)

    Over all it's in a good state.
     
  17. matlajs

    matlajs King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    also is here possibility to turn off announcement messages? those like this civ protect that cs or take back its guarantee blabla. they are rly annoying when civ become too weak to protect every single cs in game and in next turn they protect them again. i rly doubt that anyone of human player care about this.
     
  18. thunderbird_14

    thunderbird_14 Prince

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Isles of Marble de Pilipinas
    I just realized: Assyria and France are similar and they bear now resemblance to the spy system.

    Spy steal techs: Assyria conquer, steal tech
    Spy steal great works: France conquer, steal GREAT WORKS

    Overall, both UAs have interesting design on paper(haven't had time to test :( )
     
  19. infidel88

    infidel88 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Yuggoth
    Any way to fix those broken saves (due to spy issues I suppose). I have already two games that I had to stop, as the next turn game simply CTD.
     
  20. Sekisetsu

    Sekisetsu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    yeah this version is unplayable. i started 3 games, in all 3 there is a CTD.
     

Share This Page