1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Carl5872, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    Ok 2 basic questions:

    1. Do you need roads to access resources? I looked everywhere but couldnt find a list of the linked resources I had.

    2. Can each city now work a 3 tile radius?

    3. I didn't see any hot seat options, is that form of play (multiple people using the same computer) gone now?
     
  2. Balkor

    Balkor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    I can only really answer your first question and thats A no as far as ive figured out, With the demo I havent needed to build roads from my resources to my City, With roads being expensive I only build from city to Capital.
     
  3. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    Ok thanks, but is there a way to see which resources I have linked?

    also in the demo, I linked roads to my capital but it didnt recognize it did this happen for anyone else?
     
  4. Tennyson

    Tennyson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Top of the main screen, next to the culture etc. readout.

    edit: Actually, that only works for strategic resources.
     
  5. dtsazza

    dtsazza Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    London
    You can see the amount of happiness you're getting from luxury resources by hovering over the smiley face icon. If you want to see exactly which ones you have, there's a detailed info screen (domestic info maybe?) that shows it, though I can't remember exactly which one it is now. Just look through all of the screens available from the dropdown in the top right until you find it. :)
     
  6. BjoernLars

    BjoernLars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Anyang, Kyeonggi-do, South Korea
    1) You don't need to connect the resources to your city by tile. They just need to be within your borders and have the correct improvement on top of them.

    2) City can work up to three rings of tiles around itself leading a maximum of 36 workable titles.

    3) I can't tell you much about the hot seat multiplayer option. I've read in other posts that multiplayer at this point is non existent. Check this later after more patches and updates from Fraxis.
     
  7. Zen.

    Zen. Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    I read a post in the 2k forums yesterday that they would be releasing a patch with hot seat capability, for free, in the coming weeks (*read "months").
     
  8. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    Thanks guys!

    In regards to patches and downloads, what action is needed on my part to get future updates?

    Also i looked in the scenario/mod section, but saw it was empty. Is there a way to download mods from steam? If so can someone put a detailed description of how to do it (pretend youre telling your grandpa)
     
  9. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Steam auto-updates. Just connect to steam in Online mode.

    The game was just released. How could anyone have created mods yet?
     
  10. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    well when CIV IV vanilla came out there were some premade ones that came with the game i bought, although i didnt get it the day it came out.

    If so, once someone makes a mod how would i dl it?
     
  11. Zen.

    Zen. Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
  12. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Eh, Kael cheated, he was a tester. :)
     
  13. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    So how does one download those mods?
     
  14. Rathelon

    Rathelon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Anybody know where the config file is, so I can skip the intro movie? I looked through the Options menus and didnt find an option there.
     
  15. Manic Eskimo

    Manic Eskimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Just got the game but can't play it as it isn't released in my country until tomorrow RRRRRRAAAAAAGGGGEEEEEEE

    but I've noticed one thing where has religion gone? is it still part of the game? I haven't seen it in the technology tree
     
  16. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,479
    hey...aren't we all noobs ;)
     
  17. Grotius

    Grotius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Nope, religion has been removed, except that there is a "Piety" tree of social policies, and some Wonders with religious flavor. I did like Religion in Civ 4, and I wouldn't mind if it were added into Civ 5 in an expansion, but I'm not missing it all that much in Civ 5. There's so much other juicy new stuff that I'm very happy. Social policies are a whole second tech tree -- in which you have to make tough choices about which policy to choose. Hex-based combat is more interesting, to me. City-states add an interesting new dimension to several facets of the game -- diplomatic, economic, military.

    Also, watch out -- roads cost maintenance now. Build roads between your cities for a trade route, but don't do more than that. You don't need roads to hook up resources; just use a worker to develop the resource tile.
     
  18. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    In the game you download mods through the mod browser. It's suppose to be easy, I haven't tried it yet, so I can't tell you how to do it. When you start the game it's on the main page buttons.
     
  19. WuphonsReach

    WuphonsReach Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Ah? is it 3 rings?

    6 in the inner ring

    12 in the middle ring

    18 in the outer ring?

    I hadn't picked up on the 3-tile radius... that's going to change how I layout future empires!
     

Share This Page