Newbie to GOTM

Attack Condor

Chieftain
Having enjoyed Civ I way back in the PSX1 days, and very happy with CivIII (vanilla - I guess) I'm trying my first GOTM (#32). Copied an error message at the 37% load point; but happily found the mods necessary to get started: Many thanks to ainwood for the links.

I've rarely ventured beyond Regent, so don't expect a lot, but perhaps I can learn more about improving my play.

Already, I'm at the first turn - and very hesitant to do anything! (grin)

Ah well, let the fun begin.

Thanks again for those who take the time to put this site and info together.

I'm also a newbie--I've played CivIII for a while now, but have been trying to improve before taking on a GOTM. I tried my first GOTM (32) and just got smoked by the Iroquois in about 300 AD. Argh! How do I get better at this game? I can barely hold off the AIs on Warlord.

pipster said:
I'm also a newbie--I've played CivIII for a while now, but have been trying to improve before taking on a GOTM. I tried my first GOTM (32) and just got smoked by the Iroquois in about 300 AD. Argh! How do I get better at this game? I can barely hold off the AIs on Warlord.
Well, try looking through the spoiler threads here as to how people played it. Also, look in the Strategy and tips forum for some good articles on improving your game. :)

And another good way is to join a Succession Game (SG in short) where you play the game as a team. Each player plays 10 turns and between the turns the situation and strategy is discussed. You'll find that as a team you can easily play 1 or 2 levels higher. If you join the SGOTM you'll even be able to compare what your team did to others playing the exact same game!

pipster said:

I just finished my second COTM game. I don't claim to be the best player (heck in both COTM games the AI gave me a sound beating) but here are some of the lessons I learned while playing.

@ know your tribe: each tribe has his advantages and weaknesses