1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

NiGHTS: General Discussion

Discussion in 'Civilization NiGHTS' started by markusbeutel, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. ComradeKristov

    ComradeKristov Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Chicago,Il
    I was wondering why crossbowmen and archers are so weak? Catapults have 14 ranged strength and crossbowmen only have 10? Maybe Crossbowmen could have an advantage against melee units, like +50% vs Swordsmen, Spearmen, Pikemen, and Longswordsmen?
    I don't know why but the Mongolian Keshik isn't showing up in strategic mode for me, quite a surprise when I lost a couple units from phantom units. I always play my wars in strategic mode.
     
  2. Asplundh

    Asplundh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Yeah. I did, but I had a couple of other mods active at the same time (Amphibious Assault Ships and Unlimited Barbarians). When I de-activated Amphibious Assault Ships, the problem went away.
     
  3. saiyaz

    saiyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I've made sure that the cache is empty, as well as deleted the old one and redownloaded (Several times), but for some reason the options for any of my units won't show up (The bottom left is where that should be). There aren't any other mods running besides nights (The new version on the game itself's download), and the game is working fine with nights turned off.

    Any ideas?
     
  4. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Try verifying the integrity of your cache through Steam.
     
  5. saiyaz

    saiyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I even tried to reinstall the game and deleting everything left over, but I'm still having the problem. Both the warrior and the settler at the start of the game have no option window in which I can tell them anything to do, other than to click for them to move somewhere else. I never had the problem back with version 108, it's only with 109 and 112.
     
  6. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    If you've deleted previous versions of the mod, do you have any other mods active at the same time? If so, disable them, as some UI changes I made to promotions might be causing conflicts that weren't there before.
     
  7. BKS

    BKS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    With the older version of 11.2 I was able to stack Wonders/Policies/Republic to get purchase costs into negative numbers, meaning I was earning money with every purchase. I don't think you can make any changes to how that math works without the sdk, so maybe just take a pass through to ensure that -80% (95? 75?) is the max even with all possible cost reductions in place?

    I didn't see anything in the minor tweaks to 11.2v2 mentioned that would change this.
     
  8. saiyaz

    saiyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I reinstalled and deleted everything I had already downloaded, the only mod there is nights.

    Uninstalling the new version and reverting back to 108 fixes the problems. 109 gives me those txt_key errors all over the place and has no options for units, and then the newer one posted has the txt_key error fixed but still has the problem with no unit controls.
     
  9. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    You raise a good point. I'll make sure situations like this can't come up in the next update. There's a few other things I'll need to fix as well, so it looks like I will release an update this weekend after all.
     
  10. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Did you delete the contents of your ModUserData folder?
     
  11. Kirschi

    Kirschi ~~~

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Österreich
    After two nice games I can say that this is a great mod :thumbsup:

    But I would suggest one adjustment. In my usual gameplay I only play with one city, my capital. And the culture you get is waaay to much after some time. I always go for Wonders, especially those which give me more culture and at the point where I adopt the policy "get +25 :c5culture: per Wonder", my output skyrockets ^^ Around the Industrial/Modern Era I can pick social policies every 2-4 turns(!).
    Once I had the problem that I couldn't go on with my game any more and click the "Next Turn" button because I had to choose a social policy... but there were none any more ^^
    This may really sound unrealistic but this mod really favors very tall empires (playing only with one super-capital-city)... or at least my special playing style ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. saiyaz

    saiyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I had deleted everything: The entire folder in the C drive, as well as the one in My Games. I did it again and downloaded all the updates all over, and it's working fine there now for some reason.

    My only complaint is that it seems like both culture and gold come in a little too easily. While I am playing on the lower levels, it seems off that I shouldn't have +70 gold in the second age without only three cities, and to be getting a policy every 3-6 turns.
     
  13. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Not sure why the Keshik wouldn't be appearing as I haven't changed anything regarding that unit. As for why Crossbowman/Archers aren't all that strong, that's mainly due to how early they come in the tech tree, (especially Crossbowman compared to when they came in earlier versions). They also don't need to set up to fire like the Catapult, which would make them overpowered if I increased their strength any more based on their current placement. Crossbowman are actually fairly strong compared to other units available at their placement - I think they might actually be the strongest units at the game barring catapults at the time.

    I'll have to adjust culture values a bit. :crazyeye: I test out my games on higher difficulty levels where I generally spam cities, and the rate of policy acquisition doesn't really register under those circumstances. I'll make sure to balance out the amount you can get for v11.3. As for gold - I kind of need to keep levels balanced between humans and the AI, as there's nothing more off-putting than seeing an AI making 100 gpt, when you're struggling to stay above 5 gpt. Costs are also generally higher for upgrades/purchases, which also comes into the equation, (although certain policies/wonders/traits reduce these, and I'll be tweaking those as well to make sure there are no super-powered combinations).
     
  14. Sneaks

    Sneaks Brooklyn Bum

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Location:
    NYC
    Something I have been working on for NiGHTS:

    Sneaks' City View Tweaks v. 1

    DOWNLOAD HERE

    One thing about NiGHTS is that there is a lot of everything. This causes me major headaches in the CityView screen trying to hunt down specialist slots or having a 3 ft. long building list. This version of my CityView eliminates these problems by placing all specialists together in one location. Future versions will ideally sort the buildings by type (all science buildings together, production together, etc.) but for now, this does the job.

    To note: Gold borders on buildings indicate World Wonders. Silver borders indicate National Wonders. Bronze borders indicate Team Wonders or Governments.



     

    Attached Files:

  15. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Sneaks this looks amazing. :) Great work, I'll make sure to include this in v11.3.
     
  16. Kirschi

    Kirschi ~~~

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Österreich
    Nice, will definitely use this. Remindes me of VEM. Actually I am missing the cityview and top bar of Thals mod. The view/display of VEM with the changes to everything else of NiGHTS combined would be pure awesomeness :D
     
  17. Karantaner

    Karantaner Warlord

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    London
    It did not work for me - my game crashed when I opened the city screen. I'll try later again.
     
  18. Balerune

    Balerune Prince

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Like some above I was having trouble with settlers showing up in the city screen. I had to uninstall and reinstall the whole game; so far so good.

    I did get to play one thru as Emperor, small continents raging barbs, standard for a UN victory.

    But First, I mostly had my own continent. In 1866 I was already @ future tech (I skipped 10 1 turn minor techs) and the gold spread between the AI and me went from 326,000 for Askia to 400 for Denmark (I was @ 32k.) It was also strange in that since Askia built the UN he didn't try to buy all the city states. With the AI going after city states at least some of them have very poor military and if you gather CS for yourself they become easy to defeat (in my game one CS took 3 cities from America without me even being on the continent.)
    In the last 4 games I had Askia always was the one with a breakaway and in this game had the highest score.

    Anyway, thanks for the tips.:)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Gorhaax

    Gorhaax Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    The looks Amazing!
     
  20. ComradeKristov

    ComradeKristov Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Chicago,Il
    Playing as India the Mugal Fort (castle) doesn't have the same +50% military production as the regular castle. Also the War Elephant is fairly weak compared to the war chariot.
     

Share This Page