1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

no BNW-civ's ingame?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Totibbs, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. Totibbs

    Totibbs Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Europe, Netherlands, Haarlem
    Hi all,

    I live in the Netherlands and I was quite surprised I found BNW in my snail-mail postbox.

    Now Ive installed the game from disc and I see it in Steam. Only I do not see it in the game. I do see my other two packs. Gods &Kings and Mongolia.

    Is it because Im not from North-America?

    I started the game in both DirectX9 and 10&11. And Ive rebooted my PC. Both without results... anyone got the same problem or a solution? please!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,047
    Yes, it's because you don't live in NA. You have to wait till Friday like the rest of your kind. :p
     
  3. kwidem

    kwidem Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    .
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2021
  4. Totibbs

    Totibbs Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Europe, Netherlands, Haarlem
    hmm what about Freedom of Speech in this Brave New World? :mischief:
     
  5. blackcatatonic

    blackcatatonic Queen of Meme

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,423
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK
    I'm surprised you even got the copy so early! Did you order it from an American site?
     
  6. Irkalla

    Irkalla ENTP POWWWEEEEEER

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,009
    Location:
    Way down around Vicksburg
    It hasn't unlocked for me and I live in North America. Once again, everyone forgets about the Landmass.
     
  7. Ryoga

    Ryoga King

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    993
    I guess that depends on whether you got the expansion files already?

    For example I'm in europe and I got the files, I cannot play BNW until it gets unlocked but it does appear in my expansion list in game.
     
  8. Totibbs

    Totibbs Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Europe, Netherlands, Haarlem
    No, just a typical dutch web-shop (bol.com)

    With expansion list, you mean DLC list? Then why does it not appear in my DLC list ingame?

    by the way, VPN did not work. With www.whatismyip.com I saw my IP was in Florida, so I fooled Windows, but still could not play Brave New World.
     
  9. Ryoga

    Ryoga King

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    993
    Yes, that's the "DLC" menu.

    Anyway like I said I don't know why you don't see it, I'm just guessing that it might be because I have already downloaded the files of the expansion.

    Some of those who pre-ordered the game got the files at the same time of the latest patch, some didn't, for who knows what reason.

    You might want to check if you have the directory "Expansion2" in your Civ V installation in the following path:

    [Your Steam directory]\SteamApps\common\sid meier's civilization v\assets\DLC\

    If you don't, then that must be why, if you do, then something isn't right.
    If the first case is true, then it's probably normal, and you'll get everything once you actually download the expansion.
     
  10. Totibbs

    Totibbs Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Europe, Netherlands, Haarlem
    Ive 1 file in that map:
    CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\assets\DLC\Expansion2

    So something is not right?

    edit: I did pre-order my DLC, but on disc. Not on steam.
     
  11. André Alfenaar

    André Alfenaar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    The game is available in stores in The Netherlands. I bought my copy in a store in Groningen (July 9).

    I had thought to be able to play the game. There is no information on the box or inside that I have to wait till Friday. Take 2 did a bad job in not being more clear on this. I might have chosen a cheaper download via the internet, instead, if I had known this.

    It is not justified that someone sells a game without being clear that is not playable till a certain date.
     
  12. André Alfenaar

    André Alfenaar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    You need a lot more than just this .dll. Just compare it with the files you find for Gods & Kings. Steam seems to hide those files now. You have to wait till Friday (just like me).
    It is pretty annoying that the distributors/Firaxis are not clear on this. People like you and me are now putting energy in getting the game running to no avail.
     
  13. rastak

    rastak Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If they are selling it in stores it's beyond stupid to not let people unlock and play on steam.
     
  14. EgyptRaider

    EgyptRaider Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yeah I'm Dutch too and got the copy earlier. It happens to me quite often that if I pre-order a game I get it a few days before the release date. (I even got Skyrim a few days before the iconic 11-11-11 launch)
     

Share This Page