1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

"No Signal" on screen

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Fr8monkey, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. Fr8monkey

    Fr8monkey Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    In the world of tomorrow!!
    My computer is acting up... again. The screen just says 'no signal' on startup and shuts off. I have switched PCI slots, changed Monitors and video cards. I even powered down, unplugged the computer and erased the CMOS. No luck.
    The next thing I want to do is use the startup disk to repair the problem without erasing the hard drive. Anything will help
     
  2. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Does the motherboard beep at all? Also, did you make sure to plug in the extra power cables into the Video Card if they're needed?
     
  3. Fr8monkey

    Fr8monkey Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    In the world of tomorrow!!
    At start up 1 beep which meens everything is OK. It is an older model card and has no seperate power.
     
  4. lndm

    lndm Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    Australia
    Your hard drive (or it's contents), will not prevent you from seeing the BIOS diagnostics. If you've tried a different video card and monitor, you should re-seat your memory and while you're at it, all cables for good measure (although the beep suggests otherwise, better to get this out of the way).
     
  5. innonimatu

    innonimatu Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,109
    Try a different video card, at it seems that the computer is POSTing normally. Borrow one from another computer if you can.
     
  6. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    He said in the OP that he has already done that, unless Im really misreading it.
     
  7. innonimatu

    innonimatu Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,109
    Oh, right. Well, it's a very strange situation then, it seems he hasn't tried swapping only the motherboard and power supply. Short circuits on drives, badly seated memory, etc, would cause the computer not to POST at all or to beep an error code.
     
  8. averagejoe

    averagejoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    I once had a problem like that. But it turned out that some pins on the cable that goes to the video card (signal cable?) were either bent or broken.
     
  9. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Duh. Good thing to ask: Did you make sure to connect all power leads that the gfx card needs? If its an AGP card it needs a 4-pin connector, usually found at the back or top of the card
     
  10. Fr8monkey

    Fr8monkey Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    In the world of tomorrow!!
    Update. did all that and the pins are all in order. I just think the PC just crapped out. I am going to get a new mother board nxt week and try that. Thans for all the help.:goodjob:
     

Share This Page