1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

No wonder Sid is so hard!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by screwtype, Aug 21, 2004.

  1. screwtype

    screwtype Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Following a comment by playerfanatic, I went and checked the difficulty levels requestor in the Conquests editor and it turns out that on Sid level, as well as a large number of starting combat units and a research capacity 2 1/2 times faster than yours, each AI civ starts the game with FIVE settlers!

    No wonder Sid is so hard. BTW the next level down, Deity, the AI civs start with 3 settlers apiece.

    Personally, I think I might step down from Monarch to Regent level. Regent puts you on par with the AI civs, and I think I'd like to play at this level for a while to get a true picture of how well I'm doing in comparison to the AI.
     
  2. MSTK

    MSTK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    If you posted this to inform us of something new, you're a bit late.
     
  3. Theoden

    Theoden Chieftain GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    Of course Sid is hard. It's designed to challenge the best players. Remember there are some that have beaten Sid.
     
  4. screwtype

    screwtype Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    I think someone was asking about it on another thread, I couldn't find the thread so I posted it here instead.
     
  5. LaserSquad

    LaserSquad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Once I graduated to Monarch I did a jump to Sid to see how long I could hold out before being defeated. I was the Zulus and I managed to get an army of swordsmen and three cities. My Impi came in very handy too, and I nearly took one of their cities, but as soon as they got their own iron I was facing a swordsmen rush, and I was outnumbered at least 5 to 1. It was a great learning curve though. As soon as I got back to Monarch level I kicked so much ***. I'd recommend playing on Sid to polish your skills, even if you know your facing certain defeat.
     
  6. Akka

    Akka Moody old mage.

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    12,893
    Location:
    Facing my computer.
    I don't like super-difficult level like Deity or Sid. The AI has so much advantage, that you can win ONLY by exploiting the game and playing on the shortcoming of the AI. Feel more like trying to rig than outthinking.
     
  7. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    Currently I'm playing on Emperor and perfectly glad with it, but I know I'll try Sid some day. After all, in Civ2, I used to beat deity level almost 100% of the time.
    In Civ1, after winning thousands of games on Emperor level, which was the highest then, I used an editor that allowed me to add more settlers for starting civs. I would give the AI twenty (20) starting settlers, and only one to me. Believe it or not, I won at least occasionnally. Because the computer was so dumb it didn't really know what to do with them. Stupidly, it used them to improve land rather than quickly found many cities.
    Of course, in Civ3, the settlers no longer work as engineers, so the challenge is harder. I think I'll "stack the deck" for a while by making the world as inhospitable as possible: dry, cold, archipelago, 80% water: this has to slow their expansion. And since they build too few engineers, they may have ten cities before I even have two, but these cities will grow slowly compared to mine. At least, I hope so.
     
  8. Dogmeat

    Dogmeat Lupine humanoid

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hmm, I always thought Sid AI's started with 3 settlers :confused:
     
  9. IroquoisPlisken

    IroquoisPlisken Brigadier Idiot

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    New York
    I checked the editor and you're right. 3 settlers and 5 WORKERS. Start Unit 1 is Settler, Unit 2 is worker. Screwtype probably just read it wrong.
     
  10. Allemand

    Allemand Chief

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Olympia
    The thing I don't like about Sid is the goodie huts seem to be barren of technology. On Deity they cough it up regularly. Along with Settlers, too.
     
  11. Kalach

    Kalach Infantry Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Australia
    Does anyone know where I can find a full listing of all the difficulty levels? I think I saw it somewhere before that showed the AI combat bonus, tech bonus, starting units, etc, but can't find it again :(

    Or if I go through the editor will I eventually work it out?
     
  12. Midnight Piper

    Midnight Piper The Final Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Down the road, near the end of time
    Since I've never taken the time to check, I'm informed. Guess the 'us' above is a small group of your personal friends, and not the totality of worldwide CivFanatics...
     
  13. Meta

    Meta Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I am just curious but what are the bonuses on Chieftan difficulty? Right now I can win regularly on Regent level but I am afraid of making the big leap :eek: .
     
  14. MSTK

    MSTK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Here

    What I meant was that anyone who needed to know could easily find it at a far-off site called http://www.civfanatics.com (No offense intended)
     
  15. Meta

    Meta Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    No offense taken thanks for the information! :goodjob:
     
  16. Roi du Culture

    Roi du Culture Bohemian Protecter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Amish Country
    Impossible odds for impossibly good players only.
     
  17. screwtype

    screwtype Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Yes, you're right Iroquois, but it wasn't my mistake. The mistake is in the Editor Help file, it says type one start units are "normally a worker" and type 2 start units "normally a settler". But when I actually went to the general settings page, it turns out those definitions are wrong, the default type one unit is settler and the default type 2 is worker.
     
  18. Kalach

    Kalach Infantry Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks MSTK :goodjob:
     
  19. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,697
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I guess I am not reading the editor properly as I only see two settlers for sid and one for deity. If you make a map for sid and run it in debug, you will see them drop two new cities right away and often start a settler in each city.

    Pardon the spacing, but here is what it looks like for each level:

    AI Bonuses
    Def Land Units 0 0 0 2 4 6 8 12
    Off Land Units 0 0 0 1 2 3 4 6
    Start unit type 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2
    Start unit type 2 0 0 0 0 1 2 2 4
    Extra free support 0 0 0 4 8 12 16 24
    Bonus for each city 0 0 0 1 2 3 4 8
    Max gov transition 0 0 0 4 3 2 2 1
    Cost factor 20 12 10 9 8 7 6 4
    AI to AI trade 110 120 130 140 150 160 170 200

    Other variables
    Citizens born content 4 3 2 2 1 1 1 1
    Citizens quelled 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
    Attack bonus vs barbs 800 400 200 100 50 25 0 0
    Percent optimal cities 100 95 90 85 80 70 60 50
     
  20. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,697
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Ok, sorry I see what you mean, I am talking about extras. Everyone starts with a settler and a worker and expansionist have a scout type. So true they will have 3 settlers counting the start one.

    Anyway it is scary to see them drop the 5th city before you get a settler built.
     

Share This Page