Noob warmongering guide (chieftan)

emububbles

Chieftain
I was once a noob like you. In fact, I'm still pretty much a noob. But I'm a successful noob. Here's a few tips for people that are looking to conquer but don't have the planning capacity to do it effectively

Step one: ALWAYS have backup troops
It is never a good idea to just empty your reserve troops and throw them at your enemy. Make a fallback team and keep it somewhere nearby, just in case your original units don't make it. Above all, the idea is to keep the enemy pinned so they can't launch a counteroffensive. If your attack fails and they attack back, you're screwed.

Step two: keep a garrison in your cities
This one would seem obvious to the more experienced players. Keep a garrison in your cities, at the very least your most important ones. This follows the same logic as the first step: never let them crush you back.

Step three: send more than a ship full
If you send just 3 units, they will be crushed by wave after wave of enemy units. At the very least send 6. If you plan on capturing more than three cities, send 9 or 12.

Step four: send the right units.
Never, ever send a defensive unit to attack. They will be killed with ease. Examples of defense units: spearman, pikemen, musketeers. After you get rifleman it shouldn't matter that much. The best units to send for attack are: warrior, horseman, chariot, swordsman, knight, cavalry. Once again, after you get to rifleman it shouldn't matter that much. Also, make sure you read the description for our civ-specific unit, to see if it's any good.

step five: pick your wars wisely
There are two things to remember about this one. Never attack someone with more than half of your power (this is assuming you're a noob), and never attack someone who has better technology than you. You can estimate how much power they have in comparison to you by clicking on the histograph function, and you can estimate what technology they have by opening up diplomacy.