1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

North American Indian Archer

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by matteo773, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Hi all, this is my first unit(and post!:) ). I simply cut and pasted the firaxis mounted warrior and archer together.

    Any praise or criticism will be greatly apreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. la_dav

    la_dav King

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    China Shanghai
    Good unit. Hope that you become the new star of produce unit.:)
     
  3. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Thanks, but I'll need a lot more practice first.
     
  4. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    good cuttin and pastin there. but i noticed the shadow is still green. i know that you are supposed to set it to green for shadow, but you might have messed the pallet up a bit, cos it stays green, rather than becoming grey
     
  5. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Yea, I noticed that but couldn't sort it out. Do you know how to fix it?
     
  6. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,051
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    i respect cuttin' and pastin' its not as easy as it sounds. If you are up for it can you try cuttin' and pastin' the scout with a warrior to get a native american warrior UU?
     
  7. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Well, I'll give it a go. And you're right, I got a huge shock when i made this, it was far harder than I thought.
     
  8. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    i THINK you gotta make the green the second last colour in the pallet, like how the magic pink is always last... at least i think...
     
  9. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    First off...Welcome to CFC [party]


    now...great unit IMO...the shadow is an issue, but the animation didnt suffer (which often happens in CNP units)
    keep it up, we can really use new unit makers as alot have left for CIV4...


    Im not sure if the pallets are the same, but the last 2 colors are for the transparant colors...make the 255=magic pink and 256=the green in question...

    but I find that its easier to reduce the image to 254 colors first, and add the two extra colors by hand...then select by color and fill with the pink or green from the pallet...
     
  10. Righteous Fist

    Righteous Fist Valeria Victrix

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Atkins, Virginia USA
    Great work Matteo, I will put the unit to work immediately.
     
  11. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,486
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    You could, but why? Kinboat made real Native Americans awile ago...:) Everyone should always check the unit artist's libraury before making a unit, cut and paste or otherwise.

    This is not to say that cut and pasting is a waste of time. Believe me I know how hard it is. Save yourself some work and follow my advice above.
     
  12. 9th_Aragon

    9th_Aragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Good job man, nice unit ;)
     
  13. Grandraem

    Grandraem Alchemist

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,101
    Location:
    Below.
    Good job on the unit.
    It should be mentioned that the above posts about the two last colours in the palette being pink and green is for Paint Shop Pro, I believe. In Photoshop, the first two colours are the transparency colours. The first usually being Pink (ff00ff in the palette) and the second being the green of the shadow.
    Again, good job with the unit.:)
     
  14. mrtn

    mrtn Shaven not stirred

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    8,635
    Location:
    Stockholm
    It should also be mentioned that all those posts are wrong when it comes to units, the unit palette is specialised, with one row for shadows, one for smoke and four for civ colours. I'm sure there's a tutorial out there that can tell you which is which.
     
  15. Grandraem

    Grandraem Alchemist

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,101
    Location:
    Below.
    :lol: You're right. I should have given more thought to my post than that, as I've edited or altered many units before. But I didn't know about a row for smoke, just the shadow and civ-colour rows.
     
  16. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    Actually I was talking about GIMP, but it doesnt matter cause I was wrong...Id listen to SoG on this one...make sure noone has already done the units before you go through all the work...
     
  17. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Thanks for all the help and feedback, and I guess I should've checked first.
     
  18. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    Actually I disagree on the advice you got to avoid units that already exist.
    What you decide to make is your own decision.
    If you are looking to make sure your unit gets maximum useage, or If you are just looking to make units which are completely new, then yes make sure by checking here, civ3files.com cdg, evo-games, etc that no similar unit exists.
    If you make units (or other graphics) for other reasons, then it is fine to duplicate a unit. Try to make sure that such duplicates are unique in some small way and are of a high quality.
    I have made several duplicate or derivative things for different reasons myself. Typically because I could not find quite the unit I was looking for.... or there were some changes I wish the other artist had made... But I would not really hesitate to make a complete duplicate of other units, even if the other ones are of a very high quality.
    There are some things I just enjoy making. I don't see why I should limit by enjoyment just because others have already done their version. I like to climb mountains, if I restricted myself to climbing only those peaks no one could remember being climbed before, I would not spend much time climbing. Similary, I love photography. Should I only take pictures that have never been taken, or should I take those that amuse me?
     
  19. matteo773

    matteo773 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    England
    Thanks Bjornlo, and thats a good point. I did this unit out of curiosity, I wanted to know how hard unit making is; so I didn't do much research.
     
  20. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,486
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I have nothing against different versions. I use both Kinboat's and Utahjazz's Inti Warriors for example. Just trying to say that since cut and paste is tedious...etc.
     

Share This Page