1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

(Not a bug) [1.0.0.62 - 1.0.1.221] - UU (Khan, Hoplite) from city state

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by The Great Apple, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    The Patronage: Educated Elite SP gives great people. I just had Ragusa give me a Khan. I am Egypt and the Mongols are not a civ in my current game (though they are available).

    I'm pretty certain this is a bug. Most likely the game simply picks a random entry from the "Great Person" list without excluding unique great people.

    EDIT: Playing OCC, though I doubt this matters.
     
  2. playshogi

    playshogi Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Also, got a Khan as France from a city-state.
     
  3. stormerne

    stormerne is just a Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    the United States
    Likewise just had Kublai Khan from Sidon when playing as Arabia. Didn't complain though, as a Khan seems awesome! ;)
     
  4. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    You know what's weird, it happens the other way too. I was playing as Mongolia, and if I remember rightly I got given a normal great general from a city state, and then later in the game got a Kahn from a city state.

    I think your suggestion for the cause of the bug (simply picking a random great person) is a good guess.

    Moderator Action: I'll add this to the Confirmed Bugs now. Evidence can be found in this thread. Savegame shouldn't be necessary here.
     
  5. Janig

    Janig Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    I am friends with the militaristic city state of Budapest and they gift me a Hoplite. I dont expect to be gifted a Hopilte because its a unique unit of a civ never in this game. It may be significant that I researched Bronze Working on turn 65, and I did so by queuing Iron Working.


    I only attach an after save, though I quickly attempted to reproduce from an autosave and the Hoplite didnt appear.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged + renamed.

    Khan or Hoplite...same issue.
     
  7. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I also got a Bowman from a city-state when playing as Suleiman.
     
  8. yahzuk

    yahzuk Agent of Chaos

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    979
    Playing a single player game as China (no mods).... My ally Almaty just gifted me a War Elephant. How is this possible?

    Spoiler :
     
  9. yahzuk

    yahzuk Agent of Chaos

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    979
    From the same game.... I haven't researched Iron Working yet, in fact I haven't even researched Bronze Working yet. But I do have Mathematics and my ally Almaty is giving me 5 iron, so apparently I can build catapults. I don't think this one is a bug, but I didn't know it could happen!

    Spoiler :
     
  10. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.
     
  11. chrin67

    chrin67 Empereur

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    France
    Bonsoir,
    This evening I want to introduce a new UU: the british Jaguar, given to me for a few minutes by a friend CS (see below)
    I would have prefered a french "légion étrangère" but unfortunately my neighbour is not Napoléon.
    perhaps this UU has a range of 3, like the longbowman ;)
    I'll tell you.

    britishJaguar.jpg
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    The easiest way to fix the bug would be to tell us that it's by design :D.
    Because it's imho not necessarily a bug, it would be a nice feature.
     
  13. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    This is by design. We wanted the city states to occasionally gift "exotic" units to make them more interesting.
     
  14. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks for the clarification :).
    I think there have been thoughts about this before the release, and if it was not already in, someone would have modded it :D.
     
  15. DeathFace

    DeathFace Male Student No. 7

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Seattle
    Early on in a Civ 5 game as China I had allied with two militaristic states and had gotten a gifted unit from one of them. But when I was about to give the unit orders when I noticed it was a Jaguar.This has never happened to me before and I'm just wondering if anything like this has happened before to anyone else.
     
  16. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.
    And welcome to CFC :).

    Please look above, it's intentional and not a bug ;).
     
  17. Artingel78

    Artingel78 Elephant Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Spoiler :

    Look at the screenshot.
    German Maori Warrior.
    It is impossible.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Artingel78

    Artingel78 Elephant Commander

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Please Answer this is clearly a bug.
     
  19. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,859
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    This isn't a bug, probably Germany got that from a city state:
     
  20. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    And a "thanks" to DaveMcW for helping us with the organization :).
     

Share This Page