1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Not Enough Iron

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by MarigoldRan, Feb 18, 2019.

  1. MarigoldRan

    MarigoldRan WARLORD

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,279
    There's NO IRON on any of the maps.
     
    Archon_Wing likes this.
  2. Iberian

    Iberian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    474
    Man are you in for a surprise you when you get to looking for oil. You can see why the Gulf War was a reality.
     
  3. Jewman

    Jewman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    maryland land of crabs
    I've been lucky to have oil and iron everywhere. Niter has been harder, mostly because there's a much higher demand for it.
     
  4. MarigoldRan

    MarigoldRan WARLORD

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,279
    Setting resources to abundant.
     
  5. UWHabs

    UWHabs Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,988
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'm still making my way through my first full game, but had a bunch of iron (and horses) near me, so I never ran into issues there.

    Niter was definitely less common as well, although I did have one source which was easy to hook up, and that was barely enough for my troops, although I had a second source that I could have fairly easily hooked up if I was really running low.

    Just got to coal and found at least 2-3 that I can use, so I assume that will be enough for me. A couple turns away from unlocking oil, although by now I have a large stretch of land that hopefully I won't have a problem with it. But I do like on the resource model that I definitely need to pay a lot closer attention. I'm also definitely trying to plan things out, so that I can run to the tech to get the resource online well before I actually need to use it.
     
  6. Benzombie

    Benzombie Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    American Civilization
    I hate to say it but you're kinda late to the party. Iron is a legend. Tales of long daggers and horseless Knights bring excitement to our ears.
     
  7. bbbt

    bbbt Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,828
    I haven't had an iron shortage personally. But yes, oil is in short supply for me.
     
  8. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,322
    It's usually aluminium that I lack, or coal. The rest seems fine.
     
  9. Draco84

    Draco84 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    In the game i am playing right now, island plates. Has 1 coal in the 3/4 of the map I have uncovered. There is one large landmass unexplored that I suppose could house another 30 coal deposits.

    I had to build a city in the snow/tundra just to claim it. Guess I won't be causing global warming ;).
     
  10. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    I've been seeing more iron than I did in R&F and vanilla in my GS games (particular around my civ). Not ridiculously so, but enough so I have some rather than none on a regular basis.
    I think nitre was lacking in one of my games, but that sort of defaulted to the normal pacifist run after the early eras so didn't matter.
     
  11. Depravo

    Depravo Siring Bastards

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,215
    Location:
    England
    Yet another reason to sprawl like a mad eejit.
     
  12. The googles do nothing

    The googles do nothing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    284
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I wish they had gone with 5 iron/niter/etc.. from mining a strategic resource, and 1 from a mine anywhere else. Same with horses and pastures. Adjust the resource requirements of units accordingly. You should always be able to build something. I tried a later era start in GS and can't even build half the units for a few turns.
     
  13. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    RNG folks. Some times there's not enough, sometimes there's plenty. In my last game, I had no Coal but was swimming in Oil. I was putting Oil on my toast and in my coffee.

    Scarcity is the whole point of the resource feature. If they have to set it so that you always have enough resources, they might as well just remove the whole system.
     
  14. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520
    Location:
    Madrid
    In my standard size, 8 civ games, when I reached oil stage, I had conquered 4 civs, and had about 70% of the land. So i was quite surprised to see that I only had 3 oil, 2 of them pretty close togeather.
    Since my land was made from the land of 5 civs, my own and 4 conquered, that means only 2 of 5 would have had oil, one of them 2 deposits.
     
  15. ezzlar

    ezzlar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,587
    I am ok with units requiring a number of resources to build. But fuel on the other hand... One oil can power a factory and some other buildings. Or one tank.

    One oil well only produces enough oil for two tanks. And we have cars in the millions. No proportionality.
     
  16. StrideColossus

    StrideColossus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Played a few games with different maps and civs now and I haven't had a problem with iron or niter, maybe not within my borders but at least within reach of a new city and/or traded from the AI.
    Can't speak about later-game resources as haven't gone that far yet.
    Perhaps the RNG gods do not smile on you?
     
  17. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,520
    Location:
    Madrid
    I actually like this. One of the things I always liked more about civ is finding good land, city spots beeing important. civ6 is so bad in this aspect, since every settleable land is worth it. BC of districts, the importance of land, city spots and resources has been diminished a lot. So, strategic resources beeing scarce, makes some city spots much more valuable than others, which the game lacks a lot
     
  18. Bibor

    Bibor Doomsday Machine

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Oil is globally not so scarce as people think or as this game would have us believe.
    IRL its just more cost-efficient to conquer oil, at least for some *cough* countries.
     
  19. pgm123

    pgm123 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,168
    Gender:
    Male
    You should have seen the map I just played. Iron everywhere.
     
  20. Wizard-Bob

    Wizard-Bob Always remember to Find Your FUN!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page