1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Nuclear bomber in WWII Pacific

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Bluemofia, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    Has anyone had theirs shot down in WWII Pacific?

    Because of all the times I launched it, it would never get intercepted, when every single bomber/fighter/fighter-bomber I would chuck at Japan would be intercepted. I threw 8 total, one after another at different major cities, and they would never get intercepted, even though Japan has 200+ jet fighters swarming around.

    As a side note, even on Sid difficulty, Japan would never build Kamakazies and no AI would build Nuclear bombers.
     
  2. Theoden

    Theoden Chieftain GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    Since it is a nuclear weapon they would need SDI defense to intercept it, which cannot be built in this scenario.
     
  3. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    But it's an air unit, and shouldn't air superiority be able to intercept it?
     
  4. Monkeyd00

    Monkeyd00 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    It is not an air unit! It's got the ICBM flag, and therefore not an air unit.
     
  5. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    It also has the air flag.

    Also, it doesn't have the ICBM tag. It has the nuclear missile tag, which makes it more like a tactical nuke.
     
  6. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    To clear the argument:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    You slanted that screenshot towards my view. :D

    The "nuclear missile" thing is also highlighted. Note that in the picture it's an air unit, like I said. (Although I've never played more than five turns into the WWII scenario :D)
     
  8. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    And the AI stratagies aren't selected, so the AI never builds them. So getting nuclear bombers is an unfair human advantage afterall.
     
  9. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Without a bombard or attack strength, none of the boxes will highlight.
     

Share This Page