1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

obsoletes castle - doesn't make any sense!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by DeadFish, Aug 1, 2006.

  1. DrewBledsoe

    DrewBledsoe Veteran QB

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Cheering For Mr Sanchez
    All it means pure and simple is that it obsoletes the extra trade route when you found economics as free trade gives you one extra trade route anyways...if you make a quick beeline from eng to free market (say via liberalism) then you won't have much time to build castles anyways.
     
  2. DeadFish

    DeadFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Harrogate, UK
    ok i'll give it a try.
     
  3. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    As far as I recall, it didn't used to work like that in 1.61 vanilla Civ IV! When stonehenge became obsolete, the monuments (or obelisks then) created by stonehenge remained and still gave culture and the only thing that changed was that new cities no longer had them. I guess stonehenge might have been meant to work like it does now and they've simply fixed it?
     
  4. DeadFish

    DeadFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Harrogate, UK
    how the feck closing worldbuilder???? I checked the manual, forum etc - no luck!
    i had to use CTRL,ALT and DEL to close it down.
     
  5. Mesousa

    Mesousa -8.38 -6.67

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    478
    The button on the upper right which says "Exit Worldbuilder" when you move your mouse over it...

    I think Castles can't be build anymore after you discovederd Economics, which is rather stupid in my opinion. Let me build them for the defense bonus (Economics doesn't mean pre-gunpowder units are totally out of use, particularly catapults and trebuchets), just don't give me the extra trade route...
     
  6. Lars_Domus

    Lars_Domus Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Norway
    I thought it always worked like that.. At least it was supposed to :crazyeye: Oh well, I can't be bothered to find my vanilla disc and check :p
     
  7. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    Heh, neither can I.. ;)
     
  8. gdgrimm

    gdgrimm Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    530
    If Stonehedge was your source of "Monuments", then they will disappear when Stonehedge becomes obsolete. The only way to keep the cultural bonus of Monument around is to build it directly. And unfortunately, once you build Stonehedge, you can't build Monuments directly.

    BTW, building them directly can be a pretty sweet deal. They age well, and start giving 2:culture: pretty quickly. By the end of the game, that's almost as useful as having played the game with the Creative trait.
     
  9. DeadFish

    DeadFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Harrogate, UK
    good news for guys who are worried about the disappearance of castles - I just tried with worldbuilder, apparently castles, that are built already, stay after Economics like real life.

    Phew I'm really glad!
     
  10. Emerald Melios

    Emerald Melios Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Castles were built as late as the 19th century, so I don't really see why they should be "obsolete." The same for monastaries.
     
  11. Pantastic

    Pantastic King

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    That's expected; the effect of Stonehenge is to give you monuments in every city, once it's obsolete it stops working so they go away. For permanent monuments, you need to actually build them.
     
  12. Eternalsteelfan

    Eternalsteelfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Thugz Mansion
    It's new to Warlords.
     
  13. Artanis

    Artanis King

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    It's always worked this way.

    Incidentally, this is one of the reasons why I don't rush to build Stonehenge compulsively like some of the 'Henge addicts around here. Instead, I just use Cathy ;)
     
  14. dh_epic

    dh_epic Cold War Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Seasonal Residences
    I still see castles.
     
  15. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,909
    Location:
    Nehwon
    So wait... you've been *****ing about your castles disappearing, and it turns out you never built any?
     
  16. Eternalsteelfan

    Eternalsteelfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Thugz Mansion
    I think there's a limit to the m=number of visible buildings in a city, anyway. If you build enough buildings older ones will "disappear". Unless they changed it in WLs.
     
  17. DeadFish

    DeadFish Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Harrogate, UK
    'So wait... you've been *****ing about your castles disappearing, and it turns out you never built any?'

    Well, I was extremely sure I built some. Probably was a hiccup.

    This time is fine.
     
  18. Alistic

    Alistic Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    279
    Castles can anyone say useless? Glad they tried to beef them up but the effort was in vein.
     

Share This Page