1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Japanatican Cartographer?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Demo Game V: Citizens' started by MSTK, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    EDIT: Oh, yeah. And I will be away on the dates mentioned on my sig, probably in time to miss half of the first term.

    Maybe this should not be an actual position, but I like the idea of someone being the person who posts large maps of the world (requiring more than one press of the PRT SC button), with borders colored in, etc.

    If nobody is taking it, I have a lot of free time and would like to do it for fun.
     
  2. Civman2004

    Civman2004 Something goes here...

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I nominate MSTK as official cartographer and charge him with keeping us all up to date with the world in which we live :)
     
  3. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
  4. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    I'll second that Nomination. :thumbsup:
     
  5. Michelangelo

    Michelangelo Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Great idea MSTK. As a newcomer I've found it a very good way to now what happened in DGIV and basically got interested that way.

    If needed I would like to offer help creating/maintaining those maps.

    The start will be a little problem as I'm away the same time as MSTK.

    M.
     
  6. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    There's already a cartography thread stickied, but if you want, you can create the maps, and the standard would be:

    1 - Create 2 maps, a large and reduced size version.
    2 - The large version will be the zoomed out version (it's too much for a zoomed in map).
    3 - The small version will be a zoomed out version, but at the size of 300x300 (or 200x200), and to be used as a thumbnail.
    4 - Maps must be saved as DG5_(year)_wm/province_(size).jpg.

    For example:

    For the worldmap

    DG5_BC3000_wm_large.jpg
    DG5_BC3000_wm_small.jpg

    For the provinces (assume the first province is "Senshu" - means "player", BTW)

    DG5_BC3000_senshu_large.jpg
    DG5_BC3000_senshu_small.jpg


    5. The thumbnail links will be posted as follows:

    [.size=1][.b]Current Year[/b][/size]
    [.url=http://link.to.large.file][.IMG]http://link.to.small.file[/IMG][/URL]

    You can post 1 post per map. That is, your first post is the world map, and 2nd post will be the provinces. I will edit the first post to add in the next current map. Be sure to post in the "Needed Things" thread when you add a new map.
     
  7. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Okay :D

    Looks like I have an official Mandate.
     
  8. Rik Meleet

    Rik Meleet Top predator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    11,977
    Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    Just a question; How are those insanely big maps like example below created ?



    <stole the map from MSTK ...>
     
  9. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Well, that one is kind of a really fast one drawn.

    The ones I plan on making for Demogame will make everything "better"...
     
  10. Rik Meleet

    Rik Meleet Top predator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    11,977
    Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    Let me rephrase.
    How are maps created that are so much bigger than a screen? If I set the screen to the highest resolution; and take a screenshot; still not everything is on it. So that means multiple screenshots. But how do you paste them in such a way it becomes 1 map ?
     
  11. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Well, I do this the same way that I take multiple pictures of a digital camera, and then paste them side-by-side to create one long "Panorama".

    The world maps are made by zooming out (Z button), and then getting rid of the minimap and all icons (DELETE button). And then I take a screenshot of the top left corner of the mapped area.
    Then, I paste it (I use paint for this, because it's simpler than the ones I use for editing). Then I take another screenshot, but move the screen to the right so that there is a little bit of the first screenshot still there, overlapping. Then, I align that with the first screenshot and then put them together.
    After about 5 or 10 repititions, I got a world map.

    Did I explain it right?
     

Share This Page