1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Oligarchy bonus bug?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Mango201, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. Mango201

    Mango201 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    I switched from Oligarchy to Merchant republic a few turns ago but I still seem to have the +4 bonus from Oligarchy on my units. Any idea why? Could it be because I built a Warlord's Throne in my Government Plaza?

    It used to be the case that building any government building while having an Oligarchy government would unlock a policy card called Oligarchic Legacy, which would then have to be equipped to get the +4 bonus (in fact the tool tip still says that this is what building a Warlord's Throne will do), but in my case I don't have such a policy card (equipped or even available), and I just seem to get the +4 bonus regardless.

    Have things been changed so that you just get the +4 bonus as a legacy bonus?

    Playing R&F.
     
  2. Sostratus

    Sostratus Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Racking my brain here. It used to be in vanilla, before legacy cards, that you just kept the bonus. In RF you could stack the card and the government effect. In GS you cannot stack the card anymore.
    I'm assuming you've ruled out mods. There's nothing in the GS launch patch notes that suggest sch a change in vanilla.
    Does the same behavior apply with other gov'ts?
     
  3. Chefofrats

    Chefofrats Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    The Cardboard Country
    In my current game I switched governments from Oligarchy to Theocracy and my melee units seem to still have the +4 combat bonus. It does indeed look like a bug.
     
  4. Karmah

    Karmah Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,070
    What do you mean we cannot stack the card anymore ?I have access to the card all game long if it was the government I had when building my gov.building.
     
  5. Sostratus

    Sostratus Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    In GS at least, you cannot run the oligarchic legacy card while you're still in oligarchy. You have to change governments to something else first. On so on for other gov'ts. It made balancing gov't bonuses nearly impossible.
     
  6. S1AL

    S1AL Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    There's a bug with all granted abilities like this where they will be retained after upgrading (includes general bonus) even if the effect should no longer apply. I'm not sure what the root cause of it is, since UU-specific abilities are not retained, but it was introduced in the June update when they made bonuses carry over from effects like Matterhorn.
     
    Trav'ling Canuck likes this.
  7. Mango201

    Mango201 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    As I said, I'm playing R&F so the GS patch notes aren't relevant here. Not using any mods. Have only changed government once since Oligarchy.

    One thing I didn't say previously is that I ran a Classical Republic government before running Oligarchy, and I do actually have the Republican Legacy card, so maybe the bug has something to do with the game not understanding how to handle multiple legacy governments.

    This actually brings up a related question. What determines which legacy policy card you get when you build a government building plaza? Is it it the government system you are in when you build the building, or the first government system that you switch into for the tier?

    Edit:

    Oh missed this. So you're saying whatever bonus a unit had before being upgraded gets 'locked in'?
     
  8. Sostratus

    Sostratus Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    The patch notes have sections pertaining to the vanilla version of the game, sometimes "All Rulesets" (any version of the game.)

    It used to be whatever gov't you are in when the building is completed, but that was pretty abusable (you could get multiple higher tier legacy cards by skipping some buildings for late game.)

    The way it works now for regular starts is: Gov't Plaza building tier X grants the legacy card associated with the most recent (including now) tier X government you have adopted. So you can not build a tier1 building until you're in say, theocracy, and still pick up that card.
    Although there may still be a quirk where if you do an advanced era start, it can get a bit messed up. I remember that being very choppy...
     
  9. Mango201

    Mango201 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks, very helpful.
     

Share This Page