Oops, I razed a Wonder!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by br_casino, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. br_casino

    br_casino Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    When I'm conquering cities, I usually raze most of the enemy cities unless they possess some strategic advantage or a large penatly (razing Holy Cities). The cities that I always keep are cities that have wonders built in them.

    So far the only way I've found to know what cities have wonders is to first look in the INFO screen under "Top 5 Cities / Wonders". The wonders that have been built and the civilization controling them are listed, but the cities are not.

    Once I know what wonders, if any, the civilization I'm at war with (or will be at war with) has, I have to go into the Civilapedia to find out what the wonder physically looks like. Then I have to zoom in on each city to find the wonders. This can take some time and sometimes i even have to change the view angle.

    Does anyone know of an easier way to do it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Just zoom in, maybe you recognize the wonder building.
     
  3. DarkFyre99

    DarkFyre99 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    The only easier way to do this is using a spy.

    It helps if you learn how to ID Wonders from above. The satellite view (alt-F I believe) is probably the easiest way to get an unobstructed view of any city. If you do spot a Wonder, tag it with a sign (alt-S) so you don't have to remember where it is later.
     
  4. oyzar

    oyzar Have quit civ/forums

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,923
    Location:
    Norway
    Once you take a city almot all building should be gone. It is then eay to see if there is a wonder there before you decide to raze.
     
  5. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Er... no. When you take the city you are forced to choose between keeping it or razing it without being able to look at the city screen. This is part of the problem.
     
  6. The Lardossen

    The Lardossen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    This annoys the **** out of me. Screens where I have to take a really, really important decision that cut me out of my information sources.
     
  7. Piemaster

    Piemaster Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    They should do what they did in Civ 2 and when you take a city you get a 'you have captured The Pyramids (or whatever)' info box.
     
  8. oyzar

    oyzar Have quit civ/forums

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,923
    Location:
    Norway
    Well ofc but the layout of the city on the map will change so you can way mroe easily see if you get to keep some stuff. Just remember to zoom in first...
     
  9. automator

    automator King

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Northwest USA
    I like the need to look at a city before I even attack it. Zoom in REAL close.

    Probably the worst would be if you axe rush a civ who has built the pyramids and accidentally destroy the pyramids. Can't quantify how truly great chosing from governemental civics is in the years BC.
     
  10. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    Before attacking the city you could go into the information page and see if a wonder has been built in that city. Sometimes, units might block the graphic and it doesn't tell you about the wonder on the capture, yes or no button.

    AI civs will typically build wonders in their capital or at a good production site. If the city are you are about to take falls in either category, I suggest thinking it over carefully before razing.

    I like to plan which cities will be razed or captured well before the war even begins.
     
  11. automator

    automator King

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Northwest USA
    You can only see if a wonder is in a specific city if that city happens to be one of the the "Top Five Cities". Otherwise, the wonders list tells you year it was built and who built it.
     
  12. Murky

    Murky Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7,216
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    Right but that's still better than just relying on the city graphics alone.
     
  13. Mango

    Mango Tasty Fruit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    In a tree
    If you can't spot the Pyramids then you deserve to destroy them. Aside from the sea wonders and Great Wall the Pyramids stick out the most. If it's built early enough it's usually about the size of the city next to it.
     
  14. eric_

    eric_ Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Riverdale, MD
    Sorry for the off-topic post, but how does one activate the flying camera again? I enjoy that from time to time, but lost it after installing Warlords.

    Yeah, that annoys me in many instances: having just taken a city, having just finished the last item in the production list in a city, having just finished researching something, etc.
     
  15. br_casino

    br_casino Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    ^^
    You have to enable it in the INI file.
     
  16. jerVL/kg

    jerVL/kg Sheep Nuker

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    If you don't have spies, here's a suggestion:

    Attack until there's only one defender left, make a save.

    Capture the city, keep it, and check the city screen for wonders.

    If the city has none (or none you want to keep), reload & raze.

    Yes, you can zoom in close and eyeball the Wonders, but that only works for the most obvious ones (i.e. Pyramids.) Does anybody really know what Notre Dame or Sistine Chapel look like???
     
  17. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    In C:\Documents and Settings\yournamehere\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\CivilizationIV.ini:

    ; Allow Camera Flying
    AllowFlying = 1
     
  18. sylvanllewelyn

    sylvanllewelyn Perma-newb

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467
    Whenever a wonder's completed, if you've explored that geographical location already, there's an arrow pointing to that city. Write it down. If that doesn't work, then try the zooming-in method. I usually find it very easy to tell.

    I don't see why you would raze a city with world wonders anyway. They're usually the large and productive ones, and you only raze small cities that are far away. In general, you keep every city against the AI and raze every city in multiplayer (3v3) anyway, wonders or not. The only thing that irritates me is when I raze a holy city. The holy building can be very powerful up to the renaissance. The more money it rakes in, the more AI's you piss off when you raze it.
     
  19. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    AFAIK you can even open the log and click on the item in the list (xx built in xx), but if you diddn't see the city when it was built, you won't know.

    ANd there is one (useful!) wonder for which you won't be able to determine where it is built : the great wall. Graphics are really obvious, but not city specific!
     
  20. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Ah........cheat! The universal answer to vexing questions :)

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page