1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

OP and UP units

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Gorhaax, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. Gorhaax

    Gorhaax Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Does anyone else feel like the Siege Tower for Assyria is a bit OP? They get a 200% versus cities, which is just ridiculous and brings there 12 damage up to 24, and they have a sapper ability that give +50% to all units withing 2 tiles. Couple this with a GG and a few units and you're a giant wrecking crew?

    What do you guys think? What other units are a bit OP or UP?
     
  2. Ryoga

    Ryoga King

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    993
    It's strong but comparable with the hunnic battering ram which gets 300% vs cities (thus going up to 30 strength), defense vs ranged attacks, and comes very early as a replacement of the spearman.
     
  3. Distinct

    Distinct Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    It's weaker than the battering ram, but the battering ram is really the only big thing the Huns have going for them. Assyria has their UA, which is pretty strong, going for them too.

    I'd say that the entire Shoeshine civilization is a bit OP, but the pathfinders especially, considering how you can have a Comp Bow after you find your first ruin, if you so desire.
     
  4. Gorhaax

    Gorhaax Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    I just remembered that the Assyrians also have their Royal Library that gives training XP equivalent to the having a barracks. Though you need one piece of Great Writing, but thats not hard to get.
     
  5. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Actually, starting with Animal Husbandrty is pretty good, even better now in BNW than G&K since trade routes can be started with AH.
    This is actually part of my recent "strategy" -- Have the first 2 (or 3, depending on difficulty level) goody hut pops upgrade the scouts. This way, you are not left with a unit that can not be upgraded later, and there is still a likely chance to get another hut or two for culture/science. Having 2 or 3 CBs (ignoring terrain) early is OP, maybe. But a lot of fun!
     
  6. salocin097

    salocin097 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Actually you can't. Once you pick one, you can't pick it until two or three later. One person mentioned grabbing CB 1st and declaring war to kill off the AI's scouts. With 3 bowfinders, some extra tech, religion, early policy, you can get an amazing start, including the fact you basically have whatever luxury is within 3 tiles of your capital the instant you place it down.
     
  7. Blueboots

    Blueboots Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Did anyone milk all the difficulty/size achievements with the Shoshone? Just start any game and found your city. Check advanced options for 1 turn until the game ends. (I guess there are easier ways to do this, however).:goodjob:
     
  8. GhostSalsa

    GhostSalsa Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It's intended to be effective. It's still seems a bit tricky to take advantage of everything Assyria has to offer. The UA would reward a bottom-half-of-tree beeline, by letting you steal top-of-tree stuff from the Civs you conquerÂ… but you are focusing on writing and mathematics for your UB and UU. I ended up wanting to just build wonders and focus on tech instead, I felt very confused and will have to restart as them.
     
  9. Viregel

    Viregel , The Rt. Hon.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,944
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kingdom of the Britons
    Berber Cavalry-Basically a weaker version of the Commache Rider. Saved by the bonus on desert tiles. 5/10
    Commache Rider-Good UU, couples nicley with the UA. 8/10
    Great Galleass-Can easily dominate the seas and protect naval trade routes. 8/10
    Impi-Aside from the ranged attack, not much else for it, but is very good for taking out cities with two attacks, as it can weaken the defences and then attack. Couples nicley with the UA, as I think it counts as a melee unit. 9/10
    Kris Swordsman-Can be an incredibly OP unit with those promotions, but too random to really help much. (Still a nice idea) 7/10
    Merchant of Venice-A better version of Austria's UA and a Great Merchant combined. Venice can easily spam these with the gold-producing puppets, so nice synergy. 10/10
    Nau-Extra movement and gold. Perfect sea exploration unit, comes at the right time, and helps unlock the Fetoria along the way. 9/10
    Pathfinder-Want to focus on everything? The Pathfinder does just that, and can serve as your military for the first 20-30 turns. 10/10
    Prianchas-Wouldn't be that good if it didn't tie in with the UA, but as it does, it can be a good unit as it comes at a good time in the game. 8/10
    Siege Tower-Probaly the most OP unit that ever existed. Never mind Shaka, you've got Ashurbanipal knocking on your front door, ready to steal your techs. 11/10
    Winged Hussar-A nice unit of the late game, useful for both attack and defence. Gets a ton of XP with the Ducal Stables, but not much more. 8/10

    I've not played BNW yet :)(), but from the last 6 months or so of speculation, this is what I picked up.
     
  10. dashwinner

    dashwinner Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Haha I prob would of started with that! :lol:
     
  11. pilot00

    pilot00 King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    917
    I wonder one thing about Assyria: Do they gain a tech every time they conquer a city or just once from each civ? Do they take from CS?
     
  12. andrew00100

    andrew00100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Toronto
    The Great Galleas is definitely OP. Despite the high damage, it can melee AND range attack, which make it very strong in protecting trade routes and early aggression.
    If you are playing archipelago or small continent map and have 4-5 going in medieval, the world is doomed
     
  13. DeutschDachs

    DeutschDachs Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Every time they conquer a new civ city. They also have to be ahead of Assyria in tech. You can't get a tech if you're the science leader. No cs
     
  14. Elz Majesto

    Elz Majesto Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Commache Rider is my new favorite cavalry unit, that extra +1 Movement (its a promotion) makes a huge difference. I was able to pillage and plunder the land into a smoking ruins.
     
  15. Jimjemael

    Jimjemael Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    UK
    You can still get tech if you're ahead in science so long as they have at least ONE tech you don't have, you'll get it.
     
  16. Viregel

    Viregel , The Rt. Hon.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,944
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kingdom of the Britons
    I hope that the post is close enough anyway. :crazyeye:
     
  17. DeutschDachs

    DeutschDachs Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Knew I should have typed that out, ah well
     
  18. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Actually, you can. Whether it is the intended behavior or not, if you enter a hut with a scout, the upgrade unit option is always there. So you can have 3 scouts, have each of them enter huts, and upgrade all 3 to CBs. The other options (culture, science, growth) do require you to pick several other options before they are available again, but the upgrade option has always been there (with a new scout, obviously).
     

Share This Page