1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Options

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Sark6354201, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. Sark6354201

    Sark6354201 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    So I recently started playing Civ IV again (just in time for Civ 5 to come out, I know), and there are a few things that have always bugged me about the game that I'm hoping someone can offer some solutions to. They are mostly interface related:

    1. Map scroll speed feels slow. It isn't painfully slow, and it's not lag, it's just not nearly as fast I would like, and I haven't seen any option to change in the Options.
    2. Zoom in and zoom out speed is also too slow.
    3. Is there any easy way to take out civilizations like "Native Americans" from the game? The custom game just lets you manually pick civs, but I'd like to keep the random factor.
    4. OK, this is really just nitpicking, but is there anyway to get rid of the "recommended" city placement circle that appears when you have a settler selected? And is there anyway to turn off the "recommended" techs and build choices?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Scumbucket

    Scumbucket Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    3. Set them to playable -1 in your CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml
    4. Just turn off/on unit recommendations in your options menu
     
  3. Deckhand

    Deckhand Procrastination at its finest GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,370
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    1. Map scroll speed feels slow. It isn't painfully slow, and it's not lag, it's just not nearly as fast I would like, and I haven't seen any option to change in the Options.
    If you are scrolling with the keys, then I agree. Map also scrolls with cursor scrolled past edge of map;
    However, this doesn't work in Windows mode. (which is why I always play full screen)


    2. Zoom in and zoom out speed is also too slow.
    and you can use your mouse wheel to zoom.

    3. Is there any easy way to take out civilizations like "Native Americans" from the game? The custom game just lets you manually pick civs, but I'd like to keep the random factor.
    No. You can decide the specific Civs in a game, but you cannot exclude any from random selection.
    Spoiler :
    you could probably change XML or mod; but you asked for easy and I don't know how to do this
    edit, but Scumbucket did; doesn't sound too hard


    4. OK, this is really just nitpicking, but is there anyway to get rid of the "recommended" city placement circle that appears when you have a settler selected? And is there anyway to turn off the "recommended" techs and build choices?
    yes, and you should do this
    Spoiler :
    but I haven't and can't tell you how; someone (Scumbucket) else probably will
    try the Options Menus



    Thanks in advance
    Have Fun
     
  4. Tyrael

    Tyrael ALC Lurker

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Computer
    Instead of scrolling the map, you can click on the minimap for long distance changes.
     
  5. Jerrymander

    Jerrymander Epistemologist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,624
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    Yeah, the scrolling/zooming in this game is slower than most other strategy games. I just got used to it.
     

Share This Page