1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Oracle produces no culture after conquest

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Michelangelo, Mar 9, 2006.

1. Michelangelo

Michelangelo Prince

Hi,

Up till now i've been a builder in my games. This time I thought let's do thing differently and try to conquer the world. I'm Caesar, and I've eliminated Saladin allready. I've kept some of his cities bc they were either on a good spot or had nice wonders in it.

I've kept his former capital which had the oracle in it. I presumed that all existing culture would disappear (which happened), but the oracle would still produce new culture for me. But I was surprised to find this was not the case.

Can you tell me if this is supposed to work this way.:confused: If so, what wonder benifits are still working after you capture it? (Will be nice for deciding on future aquisitions) :mischief:

2. cabert

cabert Big mouth

It is supposed to work this way. You don't get any culture from another civ's buildings. You gain the special effect of the wonders and the GPP.
    For oracle you gain only GPP, since the effect is one free tech and then nothing more.

3. Karnor

Karnor Chieftain

Seems rather stupid doing it like that. So if you capture the pyramids, all the citizens of the world decide the pyramids don't look very impressive any more and don't bother to visit?

Historically plenty of those wonders have changed hands, yet people still visit them.

4. AlazkanAssassin

AlazkanAssassin Engineer

Culture isn't people visiting the pyramids.

Culture is people saying "gosh, those pyramids are nifty. The egyptians sure could build."
    That is not very usefull to someone else who owns the area. The pyramids are still atributed to the greatness of the egypians.