1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Orion's Grand Inquisition

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by OrionVeteran, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. Iyaiyas

    Iyaiyas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    See the shadow?
    So for any of you, who are experiencing a "no in game interface" bug, just use the CvAltRoot from the previous version of OGI, or the attached below.

    Well, here are some hints what could´ve caused it :

    Spoiler :
    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "BugUtil", line 691, in <lambda>

    File "BugEventManager", line 569, in preGameStart

    File "BugEventManager", line 338, in fireEvent

    File "BugEventManager", line 348, in _dispatchEvent

    File "BugEventManager", line 408, in _handleInitBugEvent

    File "BugInit", line 40, in init

    File "BugPath", line 319, in init

    File "BugPath", line 485, in initRootFolder

    File "<string>", line 52, in load_module

    File "CvAltRoot", line 49, in ?

    NameError: name 'CyInterface' is not defined
    ERR: Python function preGameStart failed, module CvAppInterface
    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "CvScreensInterface", line 92, in showMainInterface

    File "CvMainInterface", line 516, in interfaceScreen

    File "CvMainInterface", line 414, in initState

    File "PLE", line 180, in PLE_CalcConstants

    File "PLE", line 851, in getMaxRow

    ZeroDivisionError: integer division or modulo by zero
    ERR: Python function showMainInterface failed, module CvScreensInterface


    View attachment CvAltRoot.rar
     
  2. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Two things Please:

    1. What Operating System are you using?

    2. Edit the CvAltRoot.py file and add the following line to at the very top just above where it has "import os"

    Code:
    from CvPythonExtensions import * 
    
    Run the mod and tell me the result.
     
  3. Iyaiyas

    Iyaiyas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    See the shadow?
    The OS is Win7 Home; 6-Core AMD, 8GB RAM, Nvidia 750 ti.
    All the permission for the respective folders are given, and I´m loading the mod directly in the admin mode.
    After changing the CvAltRoot.py, the interface reappeared but the module has no rootDir setting anymore, the path is invalid.
     
  4. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    OK. So that fixed the message, but not the Dynamic path.

    Try this next:

    Change this line:

    Code:
    USER_HOME_DIR = os.path.join(USER_HOME) + "\My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword"
    
    to This:

    Code:
    USER_HOME_DIR = os.path.join(USER_HOME) + "/My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword"
    
    One of the BUG notes said: Make sure to use forward slashes (/), even for Windows paths.

    Let me know if it works.
     
  5. Iyaiyas

    Iyaiyas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    See the shadow?
    Ok, wasnt about the slashes, I just deleted all the "My" before Documents in the respective lines. So far, so good. Thanks to you as well. :)
     
  6. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    That's good news! I will turn out an updated CvAltRoot.py file in the next release of OGI.
     
  7. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Time for a progress report. Here is a list of changes for the next update (not yet released, which will be version 3.03):

    1. Added Promotions Flanking 4 and 5.
    2. Added Promotion Mobility 2.
    3. Added Promotion Garrison 5.
    4. Added Promotion Barrage 5.
    5. Added Promotion Torpedoes 5.
    6. Added Promotions Cover 4 and 5.
    7. Added Promotions Shock 4 and 5.
    8. Added Promotions Pinch 4 and 5.
    9. Added Promotions Formation 4 and 5.
    10. Added Promotions Charge 4 and 5.
    11. Added Promotions Ambush 4 and 5.
    12. Added Promotions Guerilla 4 and 5.
    13. Added Promotions Ace 1 - 5.
    14. Added Promotion Novice Pilot.
    15. Added Promotion Elite Pilot.
    16. Added Promotion Sniper Pilot.
    17. Added Promotions Air Strike 4 and 5.
    18. Added Promotions Woodsman 4 and 5.
    19. Added Promotions City Raider 4 and 5.
    20. Added Promotions Accuracy 4 and 5.
    21. Added Promotions Sentry 4 and 5.
    22. Added Promotions Navigation 4 and 5.
    23. Added Promotions Containment 1 - 5.
    24. Added Strength promotion to the SDK.
    25. Added Marksman promotions 1 - 5.
    26. Added Watchman unit.
    27. Added improved graphics for Early Assassin.
    28. Added Sniper Unit
    29. Added Constable unit.
    30. Added Dummy Tech 4.
    31. Added new XML unit tag "LethalStrikeChance"
    32. Fixed dynamic path in CvAltRoot.py file.
    33. Added Promotions Naval Ambush 1-5
    34. Assassin units are now invisible
    35. Assassin units can attempt a fatal strike against enemy units
    35. Law Enforcement units can see Assassin units
    36. Law Enforcement units can automatically attack Assassin units that move next to adjacent plot.
    37. Fix UB issue that prevented MTI unit production.
    __________________
     
  8. Jennvare

    Jennvare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Orion,

    Found another small bug.

    I am playing the Zulu's in my current game. It seems I cannot make the Military instructor. It says I require a "barracks", but the Zulus have a special building, the Ikhanda that replaces it. I have a feeling the game doesn't recognize this building as a barracks. You may want to fix this since I cannot make armies with them at all.

    Not sure if any other civ has a unique barracks.
     
  9. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I shall look into it and get back to you. BTW, version 3.03 is nearing completion. Assassin units will become invisible and have lethal strike capability, but assassination attempts can be foiled by Law enforcement units, who are the only units capable of revealing where the assassin is. It has been a major SDK upgrade to make assassins and Law enforcement units work correctly and get the AI to use them. Should be a lot of fun.
     
  10. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Announcing the release of OGI 3.03

    :dance::bounce::banana::woohoo:

    The OGI303Setup.exe Installation file has been updated and posted for download.

    See first post for details.
     
  11. CivDad

    CivDad King of Garama

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Central Time (GMT- 6)
    Is the opening music by Adrian von Ziegler? Awesome!
     
  12. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Glad you like the opening music. What do you think about how the new mod version plays?
     
  13. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Here is what I have planned for the next future release:

    1. Strategic bombers need a promotion that will allow them to drop a nuclear bomb on a specified plot (New Nuclear bombing mission). This will eliminate the need for two versions of each bomber (B29 on up to Stealth).

    2. Improve the SDK for all bombing missions.

    3. The AI needs to be able to use Diplomats and Cyber Hackers. This really needs to be fixed as only human players can use these units in OGI 3.03.

    4. Add 5 new combat types for naval units: Submarines, Destroyers, Cruisers, Battleships, and Carriers. Purpose: To provide better control over promotions.

    5. Add 2 new Combat Types for Air units: Tactical and Strategic. To provide better control over promotions.

    6. More improvement ideas to come.
     
  14. Jennvare

    Jennvare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Orion,

    I know I have posted this before, but I will again.

    The "Kamikaze" promotion is not working as it should. If I read the promotion right, it is supposed to give +100% strength to the unit, but it will die afterwards. When I go to attack with an assassin unit and compare combat odds, the 100% bonus is not added to it. An Early assassin is strength 5 with no other promotions. When I go to attack another under, the "kamikaze" promotion should give him a modified strength of 10, yet it still remains at 5. It's one of the reasons I never used assassin units in the previous versions, they were totally ineffective.

    With the new release, they are still relatively ineffective in combat. They make "GREAT" scouts with the visibility promotions, but Kamikaze still does not work. To add insult to injury, they are too easily countered by the Law Enforcement (LE) units. I fortify one in each city and keep at least one with each pair of workers I move in the field. They totally neutralized any threat enemy assassins had on me. Plus, with assassins limited to a national unit of 3 or so, they are just not worth investing in.

    A suggestion though, you may wish to look at the mod "Fall from Heaven" and see how they use assassin units. Each assassin unit there has a special promotion that allows them to attack the weakest unit in a stack. This helps in destroying siege equipment or finish off wounded units. They also don't sacrifice at the end of battle which allows for promotions if they continue to survive. With Stacks of Doom a real possibility in this game, these could be great stack breakers.

    If not, hope you can find another way to make LE and Assassin units useful.

    Keep up the good work!
     
  15. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    I just noticed in my own mod that the kamikaze promo is not working either. Prolly need to manually add the 100%. Though I donno if the kamikaze will die if defending and if not, it will prolly get the 100% bonus which is unintended.
     
  16. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Guess I will have to re-examine assassin and law enforcement units. Look for a fix in the next version.
     
  17. Jennvare

    Jennvare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Orion,

    Just a question for you...

    Has this mod been set up well enough for an "Advanced Start"?

    As a test, I did an advances start to the Modern Era just to see how the AI plays out in that fashion. I finally have some competition in the Modern Era and looking forward to some modern combat.

    However, I occasionally get AI error messages. It doesn't stop the game so it's more of a curiosity than anything else. Of course, having to revert back to an old XP machine, I'm plagued with random crashes which suck enormously.

    Just wondering if you did AI tests with advanced starts and how they work out.

    Keep up the good work!
     
  18. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I have not conducted any tests with advanced start. I run windows 7 on my PC. Have you not upgraded yet to Win7/8?
     
  19. Jennvare

    Jennvare Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    My brother got a new machine so he gave me his old one which was newer than mine. It had windows 7, but I've started having multiple "blue screen" crashes with it. Not sure why so it's in for service. I dreading though that some hardware is failing in it.

    Yet, my 11 year old machine with XP still runs like a champ. It's too bad I can't upgrade any of its components anymore. Still trying to save up some cash to buy another, but that may take a while.

    S*** happens, ya know. ;)
     
  20. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Hard drives are very cheap these days. so, I would buy another hard drive and load windows 7 on it. Then use the original drive to pull your data off. If it doesn't get any more blue screens, then you have a cheap fix. However, if after reloading the operating system and you still have problems, then, it could very well be a hardware issue; bad video card, mother board, etc.
     

Share This Page