1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

OS X version using DX11?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by llamapower, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. llamapower

    llamapower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    I noticed when moving some mod files over (thank you AlanH btw for all the help in the FAQ!) that there is only one .ini file, GraphicsStettingDX9.ini , in my OS X Civ 5 file in my documents folder while my windows version has 2, one for DX9 and one for DX11.

    Does this mean that the OS X port only uses DX 9? Does this mean it performs more poorly or with limitations? Is there any way/reason to get it to use DX11?

    thanks!
     
  2. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,317
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    OS X doesn't user DX at all. It uses OpenGL. Aspyr have built bridges between the DX9 system APIs and the OpenGL equivalents, but there are no equivalents for DX11 in the current Open GL implementation.
     
  3. llamapower

    llamapower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    so does that mean the game wont run as well in OS X as it does in windows?
     
  4. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,317
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    I don't know. You'd have to ask someone who has run the two versions on the same hardware and done a timing test. I haven't.
     
  5. Mavfin

    Mavfin AC was still the best!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Missouri
    I haven't done a timing test, but, the Mac version runs as well on my 3 year old Mac in OS X as it does in Windows 7. I can't see that the DX 11 version looks any better or the graphics are any smoother than the OpenGL OS X version. I have an ATI 4870 GPU, if that matters.

    Not much difference in the actual running of the program for me. It's just the (lack of) mod support for OS X, and future DLL support that has me running Civ V on my Win 7 partition now.
     
  6. llamapower

    llamapower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Yeah I haven't either. Wanted to make sure I was right tho. Thanks guys.

    Mavfin- I do the same. Its really frustrating having to boot into another OS if I want to play for 30 min.
     

Share This Page