Oscillating Research Expenditure

flankOmatic

Chieftain
disclaimer:I am still a rookie with CivIII but I am a veteran of Civ2

I have been playing CivIII for a few weeks now and have found the AI to be much smarter than CivII. When will they ever come out with a network version so we can try I, rather than AI?

There are 4 basic strategies in using science research:

1. Low Research - get cash to hurry and maintain troops and improvements, and buy technology. The big advantage here is that civilizations will always deal with you better when you are militarily more powerful than they are. You can get good prices for technology and civilizations will not want to attack you early on. The disadvantage is that you will always be lagging behind in technology but if you trade right you can keep up being on step behind. Good trading can lead to your Civ being the most advanced if you trade often. Trading often means that you will have the sum of all the other Civs advancements while some other Civs might not. Another negative is that you might be one step behind a Civ in building a wonder. 0-30% is normal.

2. High Research - get a head start on superior forces and wonders, sell of technologies that wont imperil your defense. You're armies will be smaller but more advanced. Expansion will be challenging and you will not be getting the respect of the other powers. You can hold the other powers at bay buy giving them maps and technologies. 50-80% is normal.

3. Variable Rate - you adjust your research to constantly to keep it at a minimum or maximum. So for High Research you may be at 90% for a long time.