1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Pathing problem- not using optimum path

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by pontias, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. pontias

    pontias Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Hi

    G&K Version: 1.0.2.13

    Looks like the pathing is incorrect here. Try and move the warrior to the sugar to the south west. I would expect it to get there in 1 turn using the plains next to the barbarians. As you can see it prefers the hill route which takes 2 turns.
    Of course, you can move it 1 tile at a time and it will get there in 1 turn.

    Hope you can see the image ok.

    Cheers


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jinsin5

    Jinsin5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I'm having the same problem, it seems to have to do with the zone of control of enemies.

    In the above example it would not even work if I moved one hex at a time, moving to the hex so I'm next to the barb, then moving to where the 2 is on the screenshot would put me on the hill where the 1 is on the screenshot, and have the movement to where the 2 is queued up for next turns movement.
     
  3. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    We're looking at this now, thanks for the example.
     
  4. Adjuvant

    Adjuvant Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Here's another example, if you're interested. I want to move my gatling west of rostov one hex southeast into the tile with the pillaged deer camp, but even at one hex distance it forces me to take the road. I can't control my unit the way I would like.

    Not the first occurrence this game. Previous situations I thought it was just "me going too fast", but I caught this one for a save and bug submission.

    edit: also, AI pisses about running around, ending turn next to citadels stupidly, like they're suiciding.

    and the AI constantly throws away its great generals, unprotected, either at the front of a battle or last to withdraw.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Carazycool

    Carazycool Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    MA
    I'm having this problem too. Sorry I don't have a save game but I drew a beautiful rendition of the pathing problem that I have been having:



    When a unit has one or less movement points, it still insists on going onto the flatland road tile first, ending its turn there. With more than 1 movement point remaining, that would be the optimum path, but not with 1 or less movement points
     
  6. MinutiaRules

    MinutiaRules Warlord

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    So far for me these problems are occurring when river tiles are involved.
     
  7. bcaiko

    bcaiko Emperor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,412
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I've also had the same issue, where a military unit will prioritize moving onto a hill.
     
  8. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    We believe we now have this nailed down. We'll keep you updated as we test.
     
  9. numaru7

    numaru7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Bucharest
    I've been noticing that in some situations the way point calculation is flawed. It always happens around rivers.

    In the 2 screenshots i added you can clearly see this. The river flows horizontally and i want to move the worker 1W, 1SW across the river, and it tell me i need 2 movement points because he first wants to cross the river. Movign the worker 2W it not an issue.

    Any ideas if this is a bug or a "feature" ? :))
     

    Attached Files:

  10. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    Savegame for this situation :)?
     
  11. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    Here are some screencaps of my missionary who seems to have problems with roads or forests, Im not sure which. This also applies to my workers in very similar situations in my own borders. They wont directly cross into forests/lumber mills when they have 1 movement left.

    this is without forest but road--there are no 'invisible units':
    the first pic is just the setup. the other two show the inability to go into the tiles in 1 move.
    MoveGlitch1.jpg MoveGlitch2.jpg MoveGlitch3.jpg

    this one has forests and roads and a river and no 'invisible units':
    first pic is the setup. 2nd pic shows the conflict.
    Movementglitch1.jpg Movementglitch2.jpg

    This happens in every game and I dont think it's from the patch. I remember this happening pre-patch.

    This also happens when disembarking from water to a tile right next to a city. It will send me 1 tile away before taking the coast. That makes me think there is an extra movement point Im missing and might not be related to this. If there is only one more move left and it involves crossing rivers, going into forests or going from water to land i can't do it.
     
  12. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    Savegame? Can't hurt, even after Mr. Shirk said that they're dealing with it :).
     
  13. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    yeah, okay. I dont come to the bug forums that often so I didnt know this was already addressed. Thanks and glad to know its known and being addressed.

    here is an autosave from when he was moving.

    Edit: Couldnt upload it because it exceeded the 2MB limit. it was 2.53MB, from a huge/epic settings game.
     
  14. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    -> then .zip it :).
     
  15. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
  16. Maxym

    Maxym King

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Canada
    I have same movement problems in two post patch games. I never experienced them b4 and they involve rivers or any situation which expends movement points. I had a number gGs crippled like that where they would not cross rivers where I wanted them.

    I also had problems like Pontias where units misbehaved around enemy ZoC and would not do a move even if it was allowed.
     
  17. TractorBoy

    TractorBoy Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    England
    I agree, it is definately rivers, if it had allways been the case that we had to manualy singularly move a double movement near rivers then it wouldn't be a problem but we are playing instinctively and mistakes are happening on a regular basis.
     
  18. Hammer Rabbi

    Hammer Rabbi Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    USA
    check out my screenshots. mine arent just rivers. forests/lumber mills create an issue for me too. and my first series of shots seems to only be an issue with roads.
     
  19. TractorBoy

    TractorBoy Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    England
    Sorry, I should have looked at your screenshots before posting, the issue is far more serious than some of us first thought. I was in the middle of a large time consuming game when the patch first came out, I packed that game in and sent an attachment concerning another issue. I havn't played a full scale game in the last two weeks and havn't even seen a road let alone a lumbermill.
     
  20. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,264
    Wow bug still not quashed ? :( At least for me it has improved noticeably:)
    Edit: even though it's improved, it's still buggy. But the bugs I saw did not seem linked to pathing, but rather mis-evaluation of allowed tiles (the unit was not allowed to access a tile while it should have been)
     

Share This Page