Pie's Ancient Europe

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Ancient Europe' started by pie_at, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    Cool, that you are working on a dll for PAE! Looking forward to the result.
    Have you had a look at the worker loop problem? Seems that workers (and maybe still trade wagons) are taking most of the turn time...
     
  2. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    7,083
    Location:
    israel
    hi,

    i loaded the save, i took so long to load...wow...
    but i decided to go straight to merging kmod.
    which contains numerus issues fixed by the bbai team kmod , f1rpo and others.
    with a proper dll, i can do some debugging as well.

    but ill need pie's help to implement the kmod new xml tags here and there and all the python work he did over to bug mod.
    its a start...
    this wonderful mod , deserves to be optimized and stabilized.
     
  3. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    There is already a Github project, where Ramk and I started a couple of years ago to implement PAE stuff in the SDK. It's mostly immature, but you could start a new branch for the Kmod integration. Then we merge what's useful of the 2016 code and drop the rest.

    I should also be able to help with the BUG python integration, although Pie is much more acquainted with the GUI stuff.

    https://github.com/YggdrasiI/PAE
    https://github.com/dead-flunky/PAE
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    7,083
    Location:
    israel
    Hello,
    Oh good, i was thinking bout git.
    Exellent, give permission and ill branch out to kmod.
    Yes i saw pie is skilled with gui and py.
     
  5. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    I guess you are keldath there as well?
     
  6. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    7,083
    Location:
    israel
    ye i think it is.

    im thinking of making my own branch for it, not sure.
    or, ill finish up my part and then upload to yours, we'll see. pushing on with the merge...
     
  7. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    I would say you make a new branch, because that will be fresh and likely much cleaner than our old stuff. When the kmod merge is finished, we can still move to actually implementing PAE specialties.
    The work back then was based on PAE V, so much of it will be outdated anyway.
     
  8. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    7,083
    Location:
    israel
    opened a new thread :)

    let the work begin!
     
  9. westinator

    westinator Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    keldath, you are a gift from the (Roman) gods (which are the pantheon of the best civ in pie's mod).

    Trying out your patch on the XXXL map, I don't see too much difference yet... though I haven't unlocked diplomacy with other civs, and don't really interact with them.
    But: by turn 114, the Dacii and Aquitani have both been destroyed by barbarians! I guess raging barbarians is serious now.

    still some work to be done on the older maps: mini and small crash with c++ errors

    I'll be testing later turns with this bash command, run from the Logs folder:

    <tail -f MPLog.txt | awk '{ print strftime("%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S: "), $0; fflush(); }' | tee stamped.txt>

    which produces a timestamped ("stamped.txt") version of the MPLog, to see what difference the patch makes in later AI turn times
     
  10. Thorik

    Thorik Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi evrybody!

    coming back to PAEm playing Europe XXXL 52civs map as Egypt. It's great, but I see many civs don't have acess to Copper / Tin and so Bronze. Is it wanted? Being stuck with Axewarrior and Spearman until Iron Age is pretty boring.
     
  11. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes. The XXXL map is intended to have rare recources... besides that, Egypt really didn't have Copper in the early history. They actually used golden handcuffs for their slaves due to lack of harder materials ;)

    But the other Nations have the same (but different) problems, so don't worry. Especially with Lower Egypt you will rock the world anyway...
     
  12. Thorik

    Thorik Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi,

    I'm creating a personal custom map based on Eurasia, with more Civs. I changed some plots (OK) and some initial starting position of civs (lower egypt, etruscan). But everytime i start a new game somehow the warrios reverts to the original starting positions instead of the new one.
    How do I solve this? Same if I want to add new civs with new fixed starting position
     

    Attached Files:

  13. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean the PAE_Eurasia?

    On maps where you can choose your Leader, the Civs are defined in a different file than the WBSave. For PAE_Eurasia it's the "StartingPoint_Eurasia.xml"
    Found here: ...\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\PieAncientEuropeVI\Assets\XML\Misc
     
  14. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,765
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Yes, if you want to have STarting Points. If you don't want them, edit your WBSave with a text editor, go to x=0,y=0 and delete the line with ScriptData=xy
     
  15. eXalted

    eXalted Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    I just made Companion Dog a Warlord (it seemed so weird, that's why did it) and now it is unable to attack cities. Is this how it is supposed to work?

     
  16. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,765
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    they can't capture cities and they can't kill units (only hurt them), their damage limit is 40%.
     
  17. eXalted

    eXalted Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    You are right. Sorry for the confusion.

    Great work. I've never played a mod so immersive as this one. It really feels great!
     
    pie_at likes this.
  18. eXalted

    eXalted Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    A little stupid question about chariots transporting units.

    What strategies can be developed around this? I can't think of a situation where I need this. Thanks.
     
  19. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,765
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    1) to go faster with foot troops: move with loaded chariot -> unload spearman -> move along.
    2) to go faster with land units that only have 1 movement (strong armored units)

    but in gameplay, it is not really necessary to use this feature. I just show the historical fact, that chariots also get used to transport units.
     
  20. eXalted

    eXalted Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Thank you. I actually just discovered that the chariots after the first type have 1+ movement.
     

Share This Page