1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Pillage own roads

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by PGM, May 20, 2010.

  1. PGM

    PGM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sorry if this issue has been brought up before - I searched but couln't find anything.

    How can you change settings so you can pillage your own roads?
     
  2. CornPlanter

    CornPlanter Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,066
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Why do you want that?
     
  3. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,294
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I thought you could pillage your own roads. Seemed like that option was available for your units. Maybe I'm mistaken.
     
  4. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson King

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    No, you can't destroy your own roads. I have tried several times win losing to help slow the AIs down.

    You can't destroy your own buildings either, but you can build a different building in its place. I tried doing this to get forests to spread to other tiles for my national forest and forest preserves.
     
  5. Ataxerxes

    Ataxerxes Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    It was an option in Civ3. It was useful for the disconnect/reconnect stategy there.
     
  6. PGM

    PGM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    The AI builds roads everywhere, even inside my own territory. For aesthetic reasons, I don't like some of the roads they build (deserts, ice, etc).

    There's at least one MOD on the internet which allows for pillaging own roads, so it's not impossible. It may be a very simple thing, I just don't know what files to edit (and how).

    Any modders out there that can help?
     
  7. w2w2w

    w2w2w Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    I think thsi should be easy, infact xml modding probably. all you have to do is change the pillage from 0 to 1 but I never actually checked that so thats a guess.
     
  8. Silu

    Silu Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,964
    Location:
    Finland
    If you know your way around DLL modding, the culprit is on row 4464 of CvUnit.cpp (assuming BtS 3.19). Pretty sure it can't be done with XML modding...
     
  9. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Im pretty sure you can pillage your own roads that are outside your borders, and once they are in your borders cant they not use your roads? I remember not being able to in other peoples territory when at war, was I mistaken?
     
  10. the343danny

    the343danny Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    It can be done. A mod for FFH allows a command for your units specifically to destroy your own roads.
     
  11. Ataxerxes

    Ataxerxes Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    You can pillage any roads in other people's territory when at war. When you tell your unit to pillage, it will pillage the improvements first and then pillage the road. You can't pillage the road before the improvement, however. You can also pillage roads and improvements that are outside anybody's borders, regardless of who built them.

    Some of the mods probably let you pillage your own roads, like in Civ3.
     
  12. PGM

    PGM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'm using 3.17, I prefer it to 3.19.

    I have no idea what you just said :lol: I've made a few simple edits to xml files, but that's it...
     

Share This Page