1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Pirats of WTP

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nenos, Nov 17, 2020.

  1. Nenos

    Nenos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    The first time if the pirats apear it close to wrecking your start. Because they destroy your ship and not just steal your cargo.
    Would it be possible that an attack of a pirat just damaging your ship and steal your cargo? It is hard anough for the player to lose the cargo. But in close to all cases. They sink your ship. Maybe capture your cargo and your King rise the tax and hand over you a new low ship. Mostly a caravel which will sink if a pirat attack them again.

    Can you please modify the survival chance of the trading ships?
     
  2. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @Nenos

    Pirates are supposed to be a threat and challenge. :dunno:

    Thus it is intended that the player gets enough "Defensive Ships" to protect his "Tade Ships" (the trade routes).
    Meaning you should adjust your strategy and gameplay to handle this, then everything should work fine.

    I do not like to singificantly reduce or remove the threat to lose Ships, because it will make the game less interesting.
    From my perspective it is simply a matter of "not properly adjusting your strategy", not "bad balancing".
    (If we would not have liked the balancing it would have been changed many years ago already.)

    Simply get some Navy and go "Pirate Hunting". :)
    (You can e.g. set your Miltiary Ships on "partrol routes" or use "Sentry" command.)

    However it is too challenging or annoying for you, you can simply adjust "GlobalDefinesAlt.xml", to have Pirates occur later and less often. :thumbsup:
    • Give MIN_ROUND_PIRATES a higher value to have them occur later in game
    • Give BASE_CHANCE_PIRATES a lower value to have them occur less often
    • Give TIMER_PIRATES a higher value to increase (min) turns between 2 spawnings
    Code:
        <Define>
           <DefineName>MIN_ROUND_PIRATES</DefineName>
           <iDefineIntVal>100</iDefineIntVal>
       </Define>
       <Define>
           <DefineName>BASE_CHANCE_PIRATES</DefineName>
           <iDefineIntVal>20</iDefineIntVal>
       </Define>
       ...
        <Define>
           <DefineName>TIMER_PIRATES</DefineName>
           <iDefineIntVal>20</iDefineIntVal>
       </Define>
    
    However there is not only "Pirates" (basically "Barbarian Civ").
    The other AIs will build "Privateers" as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2020
    HobyMorgan, Schmiddie and Mr. ZorG like this.
  3. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Edit:
    We also slightly adjusted / increased "Evasion Chances" and "Withdrawal Chances".
    (So a few more Ship Fights will end with both Ships just being heavily damaged or a "Trade Ship" evading Combat by fleeing to a home port.)
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2020
    Nenos likes this.
  4. Will The Viking

    Will The Viking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    UK
    Wait a moment - patrol routes and sentry orders? Can you explain - I think I have missed this!
     
  5. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Just check your buttons of e.g. a Frigate. :thumbsup:

    Sentry (S)
    --> A Unit will stay on a Plot until it spots an enemy

    "Patrol" (Ctrl + G)
    --> Send a Unit up / down along the coastal line close to your border
    --> When it is there, use the same to send it back.
    --> It will stop when it spots an enemy.

    -------

    I do most of this manually (without using the commands), but I also had games where I used these buttons, and it worked relatively nicely. :)
    It is much better than to use "Fortify" / "Heal" / ... or anything like that.
     
  6. jaeyeom

    jaeyeom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry, but I don't see the patrol (Ctrl+G). I only see "Go-to mode (Same unit type)", which is just Go-To with all the same type unit in the same tile are selected together. It's 2.8.2.1 which is nearly the latest.
     
  7. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    You are right, it does not have its own button.
    But the Keyboard-Shortcut (Ctrl+G) exists.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2020

Share This Page