Plague?

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by micbic, Oct 12, 2010.

?

How strong is the plague in-game?

Poll closed Oct 19, 2010.
  1. A true killer!

    3 vote(s)
    13.6%
  2. More than needed

    8 vote(s)
    36.4%
  3. Okay

    5 vote(s)
    22.7%
  4. Less than needed

    4 vote(s)
    18.2%
  5. Plague? Didn't take notice!

    1 vote(s)
    4.5%
  6. No opinion dude. Seriously!

    1 vote(s)
    4.5%
  1. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    Since differing opinions have emerged at the playtesting thread on how strong/weak the plagues are, this is the place to solve the debate ;)
     
  2. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Voted Okay, although it may be less than needed or rather, there's a certain need for a pre-1300ish plague. It's very historical I believe but as someone else said, until the first plague there's a lot of units around and the game is very slow.
     
  3. fireclaw722

    fireclaw722 Imperial Guard

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    The Americas
    Plague, when it hits needs to be bigger, because as it is now, it kinda sucks(for the plague, not human or AI).
     
  4. ThatDude

    ThatDude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    This is going to become a nice bell curve.

    BTW, would be nice if there were some easily-accessed config option to turn off the plague and/or mercs.
     
  5. Zipzapzup

    Zipzapzup Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Actually it is very easy to turn plagues off. Just open Plague.py and make a '#' before 'self.setGenericPlagueDates..', save and thats it.
     
  6. ThatDude

    ThatDude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks. Still, it's not what I'd call “easily configurable.” I was thinking more along the lines of a separate Config.py (or at least a section in Consts.py) where you can toggle features which are governed solely by Python code (i.e. not in the DLL).
     
  7. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,315
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    In my beta 3 game as Austria, plague never wore out, the whole Europe was doomed... It didn't spread to Sicily and my Atlantic Islands cities nor Russia & Sweden, but in cities it spread in, it kept killing people forever...
     
  8. yogiebere

    yogiebere Civilization City Planner

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I think it should be adjusted a bit, It often comes very heavy handedly killing off all workers and soldiers if you don't act quickly, but doesnt come that often.

    An ideal plague: would completely spread around europe in under 5 turns (often times it gets to every country in 5 but takes longer to spread around) but then only takes about 3-6 turns based on health, but kills about half of units. And probably have 5 or 6 times starting later than it does currently (a plague almost at the start of the game is a little brutal)

    also if you have time, go check out the feedback forum, we need more people there
     
  9. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,259
    Location:
    Taiwan
    For it to have impact, it needs to be strong. If it's just a cough, why include it?
    I edited the Plague to be short, but heavy. Timing is everything. If you get hit, right in a war, you got a problem.
    If you get hit just after you golden age, you're still pretty good to go.
     
  10. Altan I Balik

    Altan I Balik Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Turkish Catholic
    Turks never of to be getting plages
     

Share This Page