1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Playable Byzantines in RFC 600AD

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Justus II, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. Justus II

    Justus II General Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Peoria, IL, USA
    Is there a mod or other option to make the Byzantines playable in the 600AD scenario that came with BTS? Or in a newer version? I tried going into the WBS to make them playable, I was able to load up as them but all units disappeared. Thanks.
     
  2. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    Hello, i'm interressed too, how did you made them playable? Thank you.
    What are WBS and stuff? I'm a newbie =)
     
  3. "<-_Danny_->"

    "<-_Danny_->" Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Italy
    Justinian I -Byzantine Empire - Start year : 395 AD
    UP : Power of Teology : + :) at Teocracy for any city with christianity
    UHV
    1.Conquer Carthago, Spain and Italy at 570 AD
    2.Conquer France, England and Mesopotamia at 1500 AD
    3.Build the Hagia Sophia before 570 AD
     
  4. Good Sauce

    Good Sauce (TM)

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Rhye has said before he's not going to do this. (he doesn't want to add anymore civs, particularly in such a crowded region.)
     
  5. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I think it would be cool to play Byzantines, but iirc modding a full civ (with UHVs, etc) in would mean editing the .dll.
     
  6. Justus II

    Justus II General Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Peoria, IL, USA
    It wouldn't actually be adding a civ, since they already exist, just non-playable. But I take it that means there is no easy way to play as them. Thanks anyway.
     
  7. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    I really hope that they can be added.
     
  8. say1988

    say1988 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4,659
    I have seen several people say they were attempting to, but there is a LOT of work, and I think they gave up before they got rid of all their errors.
     
  9. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    [QUOTE="<-_Danny_->";6663948]Justinian I -Byzantine Empire - Start year : 395 AD
    UP : Power of Teology : + :) at Teocracy for any city with christianity
    UHV
    1.Conquer Carthago, Spain and Italy at 570 AD
    2.Conquer France, England and Mesopotamia at 1500 AD
    3.Build the Hagia Sophia before 570 AD[/QUOTE]

    Um, that's quite impossible for the 1st criteria unless you give the Byzantines an unreasonable number of starting units (that's like less than 15 turns total, can't even get to Spain in that period of time).
     
  10. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Spawns at 330 AD

    The UHV should be:
    1.Conquer Carthago, Egypt, and Italy by 600 AD
    2.Make Constantinople the most cultural city in the world in 1000 AD
    3.Survive past 1500 AD

    They should also have a diplomatic penalty with all the civs that they meet.
    Now all we need is someone who can mod in rhye.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    That's still not enough time to conquer all that.

    And besides, as I said earlier adding UHVs etc. for a Byzantium civ was require fairly extensive python modding, which means it would be a . .. .. .. .. . to update to the latest patch all the time and you would have to edit the dll which means you need first need to get the uncompiled C++ from Rhye and figure out how to compile it correctly (hard).

    So in other words the only way Byzantium is getting in is if Rhye does it officially. And since he has said that isn't happening then I suggest you get over it.
     
  12. Edungeon

    Edungeon Flying~

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Brazil
    Keep Constantinopla as your capital by 1500AD is a better condition. :)
     
  13. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    If you don't survive you lose the game, so this UHV is kinda dum.
     
  14. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    O.k This UHV is better. Why are we talking about this if the Byzantines are not going to be added?


    How about you spawn at 330 AD and the spawn area are the Balkans, Greece, Anatolia, and Egypt.
    UHV
    1. Conquer Italy and Carthage by 600 AD.
    2. Make Constantinople the most cultural city in the world at 1000 AD
    3. Keep Constantinople by 1600.
    Since they are so overpowered, they should also have a diplomatic penalty with all the civs that they meet.
     
  15. Wessel V1

    Wessel V1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,443
    Location:
    Hamlet south of Amsterdam
    I would love to play them, but there is just no space i'm affraid. Greece will collapse, making their UHV impossible. Making Constantinople the most cultural city of the world in 1000 AD is impossible because in the 3000 BC start Delhi and Beijing will be alive.
    So I'd say replace Greece, give Byzantium those units, and let them conquer the entire roman empire in 1450 AD.
    Just to explain that adding Byzantium in the main mod is just entirely impossible.:(
     
  16. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    How about they and Egypt if they exist become byzantine vassals.
    Then the Byzantines should go on an epic journey to sack Delhi and Beijing :lol:
     
  17. ijnavy

    ijnavy Czar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Byzantines
    Spawn at 330 AD Greece and Egypt automatically become vassals.
    UHV
    1. Conquer Carthage and Italy by 600 AD
    2. Make Constantinople the most cultural city in 1000 AD
    3. Keep Constantinople as your capital till 1600 AD
    Unique Power: The power of being so powerful, your relations start with annoyed instead of cautious with new civs.
    Now if only Rhye wanted to make them.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Rhye.jpg
      Rhye.jpg
      File size:
      120.8 KB
      Views:
      376
  18. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    "The power of being so powerful, your relations start with annoyed instead of cautious with new civs."

    Catchy.
     
  19. Legendre

    Legendre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Notre Dame, Indiana
    Kind of unrelated, but has anyone else here read A Short History of Byzantium by Julius Norwich? I have to say it was such an incredible read I just Amazon'ed his history of Venice.
     
  20. sdLeo

    sdLeo Cosmopolitan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    I did. Sad, sad, sad, "Byzantine" history. I guess all empires in Asia Minor/Levant are doomed to be overrun sooner or later...
     

Share This Page