Player AI in MP should never declare peace the same turn of a disconnect

drubell

Prince
If anyone has known me to complain about this game on this forum, you know that my major issue with continuing to play Civ 6 has been mostly about the game's UX.

But a recent MP game has caused me to completely stop playing Civ 6 at all over a different issue. It's been over a month since that game and I still have had no intention of seriously playing Civ 6 again until it's been resolved.

In this MP game, I was playing as France and my AI opponent was Aztec (in these games, the setup is that each player finds and kills its AI with a cooperative effort).

I was not the host, and sometimes I will go out of sync of the game and that means that the civ I was controlling will get a turn in which it annoyingly will move my units away from where I want them to be or the AI will change my policy cards and I have to change them back later. These are annoying issues, but never game-ruining. I just reconnect to the game, see what changed, and act accordingly.

But in this particular case, I was in the middle of my war with the Aztec, and it was crucial for me to cripple the Aztec as soon as I could as quickly as I could or else the game was going to drag on a lot for me. I begin my war after setting up my units. then I disconnect, and then what happens?

France's AI declares peace with the Aztecs in the turn I disconnected, and so I couldn't attack the Aztecs for 10 turns. 10 turns on Online speed is a very long time. This was a situation where I refused this outcome and discontinued playing that game with my friends.