1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Please explain to me how temporary governor advancements to titles made by the computer work.

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by pavlovspup, Aug 15, 2018.

  1. pavlovspup

    pavlovspup Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi, I promoted Magnus once, so that I could make settlers without losing population and appointed a number of governors at some point in the game. Later, during a golden age, I noticed that all appointed governors had their first right-hand ability (or title/promotion) highlighted--I'm assuming that means it's active. Magnus, who I had promoted once to have his right-hand title effective, was no different at that time than any of the others.

    Later in the game, during a third consecutive golden age, I noticed all appointed governors had two right-hand titles highlighted. At that time Magnus had his third title working. I noticed that at the end of the age, all abilities went away, except maybe the one I raised up on Magnus--not sure about that one.

    The next age was a dark age, and I noticed that only Magnus had his one ability. Sometime later in the dark age, everyone had two abilities lit up again on the right side. This time Magnus did not have a third ability lit up. Then I appointed my last governor and everyone lost one ability and of course, the new governor had none.

    I find this all very confusing, can't find anything about it on this forum, in the rules or the Steam site.

    What I'd like to know is (if anyone has sleuthed this out):

    1. What am I doing that is causing the first two right abilities to activate?

    2. What do I need to do to activate the left two abilities?

    3. What do I have to do to activate the 3rd and 4th abilities?

    4. Why is Magnus inconsistently getting an additional ability lit up?

    5. I'm also wondering if there are other ways besides civics to earn governors titles in order to appoint my governers and advance them quicker. This is hellaciously slow.

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  2. Uberfrog

    Uberfrog Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,451
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Every Governor ability is unlocked with a promotion. These are primarily unlocked by progressing through the Civic tree, but can also be gained by building the Government Plaza district and its buildings, as well as some Wonders. Every time you get a Governor Title, you can spend it to recruit a new Governor, or by promoting an existing one. When you promote a Governor you select which ability you want to unlock. This is the only way new abilities are unlocked. There is no such thing as a temporary promotion.

    It sounds like this is what you are doing: Magnus has been promoted to grant an extra ability; all the other Governors are at their basic level. I don't know what's going wrong here to make the other abilities highlighted, but it sounds like a UI bug: do you have any mods installed?
     
  3. Lord Lakely

    Lord Lakely Unintentionally a feminist.

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,291
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    I've seen this bug also. It's almost certainly Mod-related.
     
  4. Halcyan2

    Halcyan2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,380
    No, no. It's a graphical display bug.

    I play with all DLC and expansions but no Mods and I have the same issue. Sometimes, some of the Governors' promotion skill tree makes it look like they have promotions that they don't actually have.
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  5. Zaarin

    Zaarin My Dearest Doctor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5,704
    Location:
    Terok Nor
    Can confirm: I've seen the same bug for a while now.
     
  6. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    As have I, playing with no mods. When you go into the Governors panel, you can tell whether they actually have the promotion by hovering over it (at least, you can if you have an unused promotion to spend), but just looking at the screen it looks like they have promotions they don't.
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  7. Karpius

    Karpius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    623
    You can easily tell which promotions a governor has when you open the screen for all govs. It clearly displays where they are assigned and what promotions they have. When you look at the promotion descriptions *per* gov, it will highlight which promotions are next available. This screen is a bit less clear because of such a subtle difference in the "highlighting" of what is next available and what is active. the previous screen, which displays all the govs, is much more clear in that regard.
     
    King Rad likes this.
  8. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    When the bug described above is active, the screen isn't just less clear, it's actually inaccurate, showing Governors as having promotions they don't actually have. When the bug isn't active, the screen behaves as you described.
     
  9. Karpius

    Karpius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    623
    Ahhh, understood. Then it is a bug I have yet to experience. Or (most likely) haven't noticed.
     

Share This Page