1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Please Help! No option to create National Park despite being in highlighted tiles

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Reginscythe, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. Reginscythe

    Reginscythe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    20190214162636_1.jpg 20190214162800_1.jpg
    I don't know what I'm missing on this one. I'm sure all the tiles are high enough appeal, no improvements, even the game thinks they're suitable spots and highlights them. However, the action button containing the option "Create National Park" does not show up in the lower right corner next to Move and Sleep, etc. Any ideas what I'm overlooking?
     
  2. bengalryan9

    bengalryan9 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    I had a similar issue once and found out that it was because all 4 tiles had to be controlled by the same city. I think that is the issue with the Washington DC park location. That said, from this picture is sure looks like the other 4 all belong to Boston, sooo.... not sure!
     
  3. Naeshar

    Naeshar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    It seems both locations belong to the correct city and are high enough appeal. Otherwise they would not be highlighted (idk about mods here). I think everytime I tried, it was working, unless naturalists and NPs are available on different civics! I am not at my PC now, but I think this is the case, the civic for NPs is pretty much leaf civic and not required, so it is possible you don't have it yet. Also, I think to remember the icon for an improvement shows (even if greyed out) after it is enabled by the civic/tech tree. (same as plantations don't show before Irrigation).
     
  4. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,424
    Naturalists and parks come with the same civic. I have no idea what's going on there, when the tiles light up it should be good to go. Looks like a bug to me.

    Edit: have you tried clicking the little circle with the + in it to show more options?
     
  5. Chefofrats

    Chefofrats Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    The Cardboard Country
    For what it's worth, I just created a national park in a GS game without any problems.
     
  6. Isengardtom

    Isengardtom Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    same here, no problem for me


    nice tall city btw
     
  7. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,645
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I created several parks in my latest game. Had to do some tile swapping though.
     
  8. bengalryan9

    bengalryan9 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    The game will definitely highlight potential National Park spots whether the tiles all belong to the same city or not - at least it did up until Tuesday night when it happened to me in the Outback scenario.
     
  9. Giskler

    Giskler +1 Sleuthing

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway
    Have to be controlled by the same city. Use the new empire lens to easily see which tiles belong to which city.
     
  10. bengalryan9

    bengalryan9 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    It looks like in the second picture they would all belong to Boston though, right? Those tiles don't seem to be within a 3 ring radius of any other city...
     
  11. Naeshar

    Naeshar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    The bottom one could belong to shwashington 4th ring, if it was gained sooner. Cant see a reason for the first one - but he is missing the option to create NP in general. It would be greyed out if he stood on invalid tile.
     
    kevinb70 likes this.
  12. kevinb70

    kevinb70 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Washington's borders had already extended to 4 tiles, capturing ownership of the grassland tile your naturalist is standing in... and owned that tile, before Boston's border finally extended 3 tiles out. Since that tile is 4 away from Washington, washington can't use it. Boston can't use that tile because it's owned by Washington.

    For the one valid park location - all four tiles are within 3 tile distance of Boston. You just need to swap the ownership of the tile

    Click the Manage City button in the bottom right of the interface. Swap ownership of that tile to Boston and then you can build the park.

    I regularly visit my citizen management screen and swap tiles so I don't lose out on that tile's production.
     
  13. Naeshar

    Naeshar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    I had to reload an old save to build a naturalist. I had one spot for NP and the naturalist apparently has the option greyed out on invalid tile. The game in your case betrayed you. I would swear I encountered the same problem once but dont have the game saved.
    upload_2019-2-16_2-10-24.png
    The hint from kevinb70 is obviously right, only if there was the option to build an NP, right?
     

Share This Page