Poll: Land / Sea TRs "Merging" in the Late Game

Poll: Should we consider "merging" land and sea TRs into one type in the Late Game?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Currently there are two types of trade routes: Land and Sea.

The idea is, at some point in the end game, the two types of units would "merge", creating a single trade unit that can cross both land and sea. In other words, any city could trade directly with any other (assuming proper range of course). That could be a cargo ship, or an airship, or a blimp, or just some generic "trade unit".

This thread is NOT about the logistics of that idea. This poll is to get a sense of the community's interest in the idea, to see if its worth detailed discussion.

Is this a topic worth further discussion, or is it best left to a modmod?

A big yes from me, but I'm a King noob that doesn't care about the balance that much. Honestly I'd prefer them to be merged from the start, as in the new trader unit would replace the cargo ship and the caravan would be upgraded to that.

Edit: Or to keep things more balanced, the new trader unit (which replaces the cargo ship) wouldn't be allowed to change domains on a trade route. Simply put, it'd be a land unit or naval unit depending on the origin city, and it'd allow either pure land or pure sea trade routes, preventing the case where any city can trade with any other. This would come in the late game like you suggested, through a new technology or another unit upgrade.

Last edited:
Won't this risk being weird? For sea-routes it does not matter but for my land-routes I want to send them so they hit a maximum of towns and villages. That might become wonky if they switch and swap between sea and land to create the shortest routes, whatever they might be. So while nice in some regards I would prefer not to tweak it.