1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Population Size

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Ericino, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. Ericino

    Ericino Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I know Civ4 isn't all about realism in scale, but....
    Has anyone ever managed to come close to the real world's population of over 6 billion? I have trouble getting over 400 million after 1000 turns, 6 billion is so far away! :confused:
     
  2. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    It is very difficult to get anywhere near 6 billion with the way the game calculates population and the fact that population comes only from cities themselves (rather than, for example, villages and towns too). You'd need nearly 200 size 40 cities or well over 400 size 30 cities. Perhaps on a huge map with massive food corporation spam you could make a run at it, but it's just not likely without contrived circumstances.
     
  3. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    I'd like to see someone accomplish a game with a total population of 6 billion!

    @Ericino

    Is the total you got include the AI's?
     
  4. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    You, you'd want to count the AI's populations at well, since this is the world we're talking about and not just a single nation.
     
  5. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    That's what I thought...

    It's still unrealistic though. 200 cities that are size 40. I've never seen a size 40 in any game, not even the ones I made.

    I've gotten close to a size 30 though.
     
  6. Kesshi

    Kesshi Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,415
    Spoiler :


    I was bored.
     
  7. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Seen better... joking!

    Using world builder I have though (around 121).

    But 80 cities with the size of 100 is better than 200 cities with the size of 40. You could use this save and spam farms everywhere to make the cities with a size of 100. Doesn't look like you have 80 cities though. Anyone care to try?

    Edit: 1386 happiness? 1395 health? What in the world?

    Edit: Nevermind... Future Tech 1367. :lol:
     
  8. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    Well hell, if you're gonna have size 100 cities you'd only need like 16. :p My previous post assumed a "reasonable" average size. ;)

    Of course you probably can't ever see more than about 2.14 billion on the demographics screen because of data storage limits....
     
  9. nNemethon

    nNemethon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    They might have codded in split-value additives? :D Tho doubt it. heeheehee.

    BTW, where in BtS can you find citizen per pop sizes?
     
  10. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    From the SDK.
    Code:
    long CvCity::getRealPopulation() const
    {
    	return (((long)(pow((float)getPopulation(), 2.8f))) * 1000);
    }
    
     
  11. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Only 16? I multipled 200 with 40 and then divided the answer with 100... I got 80. How did you get 16?
     
  12. ICNP

    ICNP The Third Superpower

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Location:
    Missile Silo
    City pop is non-linear. It is exponential IIRC.
     
  13. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    Yes, it is exponential and the formula was posted above. If you can't read C++ that translates to:

    (Note that the number is truncated to an integer before the multiplication by 1000)

    So doubling the pop of a city (such as from 20 to 40) will result in a "real population" that is approximately 7 times as much (there are integer rounding issues that throw in some uncertainty). An easy experiment to help understand this is to create a city in WorldBuilder, set it to whatever population you want, then go back into the game and read the "real population" from the city screen which is shown when you hover the mouse pointer over the city name.

    A size 40 city has 30,603,000 "real population" and a size 100 city has 398,107,000. Dividing 6 billion by each of those values is where I come up with needing (approximately) 200 size-40 cities or 16 size-100 cities.
     
  14. Matthew5117

    Matthew5117 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    North of America (can you guess?)
    Ahh... that makes sense.
     

Share This Page