1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Price of "hurried" colonists cost far more than "new" ones

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Bug Reports' started by ColPaladin, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. ColPaladin

    ColPaladin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Many times you will see the price of "Hurrying" a colonist is FAR greater than just buying the same one from the Purchase area in Europe. This must be a huge bug, right? Why bother with Crosses then (except to wait for the free guys to appear) if it does not lower the price of partially converted colonists?
     
  2. ChrTh

    ChrTh Happy Yule!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    6,255
    Location:
    Piedmont Triad, North Carolina
    Every time you get a colonist, the number of crosses required to get the next one increases. There's a gold per cross amount to pay to hurry; it's feasible that after recruiting a lot of colonists that hurried ones will exceed the cost of buying straight from the list. I'm not sure what the fix for this situation would be, an increased cost in buying new colonists?
     
  3. marstinson

    marstinson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    It would have to be that or capping the immigrant cost at something like the highest priced recruit. However, those prices also go up as you recruit more of particular specialties. For example, you first cannon costs something like 750, the second is something like 900, the third is even more and so forth. Buy enough of them and your next Cannon or Veteran Soldier could conceivably cost more than a Ship of the Line.

    I think the aim of the increasing price on the docks was to get the player to focus more on producing his own colonists and look at the docks as being gravy by the time you reach the mid-game.
     
  4. ColPaladin

    ColPaladin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Example: I take a ship to Europe. The 3 guys waitng to be recruited all cost $2000+ to "hurry". I can just click on the Purchase button, and get the exact same thing for $800. Happens all the time when I play, and it's silly and useless :rolleyes:
     
  5. tour86rocker

    tour86rocker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah I have a feeling that it'll be best to not get too used to the current game mechanics before they change. Or maybe I just have a "hope". The roughness of some of the game features rivals the Final Frontier mod that was bundled with BtS. I'm hoping they support this game better than if it was just a mod.

    I'm sure they will, I need to just be more patient; it has been out only one week, after all.
     
  6. ColPaladin

    ColPaladin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Like I wrote on another link: Guess I'm spoiled by Stardock. They sometimes reply within an hour of a post (especially about game breaking bugs), and let you know what they are doing within days.
     
  7. ChrTh

    ChrTh Happy Yule!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    6,255
    Location:
    Piedmont Triad, North Carolina
    I think the point is that this isn't a bug, it's just something that needs to be rebalanced/corrected from a gameplay pov. There are far more dramatic issues afflicting the game right now that has probably grabbed their attention.
     
  8. tour86rocker

    tour86rocker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    USA
    ColPaladin-

    I haven't experienced the Stardock forums, but I know what you mean. I used to help play-test the FreeCol project on Sourceforge and the programmers/developers were great about correcting errors and keeping you updated.

    BTW, is this forum even semi-official? I'd hate to think that my bug reporting was futile.

    In other news, I don't appreciate having to pay to be a part of this game's ongoing beta testing :^[
     
  9. fingerbib2000

    fingerbib2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    I'm calling major bug. Though only because of the knock on effect from another bug...i think.
    There is another bug floating around where some maps won't produce cotton/fur/sugar training villages. Am i right in thinking that these units could eventually come over from europe? I've seen the cost of units on the dock go 10k+ so this pretty much prohibits them from ever appearing as you'll rarely be able to afford them.
     
  10. tour86rocker

    tour86rocker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    USA
    It never happened in Col1. I think I've seen a pricetag as high as 34 thousand on a colonist in Europe.
     
  11. ColPaladin

    ColPaladin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    It's almost funny: Imagine going to a real store. The clerk says "Welcome sir, if you give me $250, I'll run as fast as I can, and grab you a totally random item from the store. Or, you can pay $50 for any specific item you choose" Decissions, decissions :rolleyes:
     
  12. ZippyRiver

    ZippyRiver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    454
    The price of "paying the way" of a colonist in Col1 does increase with each new colonist. And yes, I have seen the cost of a dock monkey be more than getting the same thing from the Royal University (in Col1).
     
  13. tour86rocker

    tour86rocker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    USA
    I guess I should have written my post in a way that the context couldn't be mistaken. In Col1, I never encountered dock prices as high as I have in Col2.
     
  14. todd_unt

    todd_unt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    What's more is that if you were especially vigilant, you could wait until almost all the crosses produced a colonist, then choose one of the three for next to nothing lest you risk getting a petty criminal instead of a juicy statesmen. They oughta let you pick the one you want rather than leave it to chance.
     
  15. tour86rocker

    tour86rocker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    USA
    I would be in favor of them capping the maximum price for dock colonists at the cost of the most expensive specialist to buy outright.
     
  16. Polobo

    Polobo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    I would suggest that removing the ability to "buy" from the docks outright would be the best "fix"; every complaint I've read here would be solved.
     
  17. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Seems the most elegant solution. Or, only make it possible to buy the dock monkey when the price drops under 2000 gold.
     
  18. TehJumpingJawa

    TehJumpingJawa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    If you remove the docks 'hurry' mechanic enitrely it will make some of the UI on the docks screen defunct. (i.e. no point showing what the next 3 immigrants might be, as the choice will be entirely beyond the players control)

    I'd suggest just reverting to the way col1 handled it - a linear increase in crosses for subsequent colonists, rather than the geometric increase that col2 has.
    Though it is entirely a balance thing, and with the balance of so many other aspects of the game totally out of whack, this is in my mind a low priority.
     
  19. Polobo

    Polobo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    I would like to not know what I can expect as the next immigrant and, even more realistic, not know IF they are ready to immigrate. How do the people in the new world know that someone needs transport until they actually send ships back to Europe? It would make more sense for the immigrants to be unknown and then they all appear on the docks (and stay there) as soon as any of your ships arrive.
     
  20. Refar

    Refar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    I seem to have no trouble to know when the King got another one of his silly ideas involving kissing his ring. No matter if me (let alone him) sent a ship. :mischief:

    I get your point tho.

    Overall i think it's not entirely wrong to have some influence on who will immigrate. Sure they had no "Green Card" establishments back then, still actions of the colonial Goverment could and should encourage/discourage the immigration of certain proffessions.

    Right now "rushing" the guy, who you really want, from the 3 is the way to do this... Not the best way (it would be much cooler, if it depended on the Labour Market in the Colonies - what ressources you have, what workshops you have made...) - but as long as it's the only way, i wouldn't like it gone...

    I think Dales idea to disable the option untill some threshhold is reached is good. (tho 2000 seem awfully high - maybe rather 500 or 1000).
     

Share This Page