1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

prince or harder is not so fun because of money problems

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Jim Bro, May 1, 2011.

  1. Catastrophe90

    Catastrophe90 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    - Everyone else has said it: City Specialization is key to having a good economy. I usually built 7-8 cities. 1 (usually the Capital) is the Production city, 1 (adjacent to a mountain) is the Science city, 1 (near a River/Lake) is the Culture city and the rest are all Money ones.
    - Don't Automate Workers. They tend to do stupid stuff like building Roads everywhere. You do not need Roads everywhere. Manage them manually.
    - Roads. Build only the strict minimum to link your cities to the Capital. If you're Iroquois, you shouldn't need much of them.
    - Sell your excess luxuries.
    - Choose City sites wisely. Don'd be like the AI and settle a city surrounded by snow near the North Pole (unless it has something like 4 sea resources). Most Luxury Resources give Gold, so proper placing does help. Rivers are also a good source of money.

    P.S. The Himeji Castle in a 2 Pop. City? Sérieusement?
     
  2. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    Most people reply to a thread in an effort to try and help, and I must say alot of good advice has been given.

    Sorry, but the above smacks of making silly posts just for the sake of it!

    Moderator Action: Please don't accuse others of 'making silly posts just for the sake of it'. If you have a problem with a post, report it.
     
  3. wannabewarlord

    wannabewarlord Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I find the opposite is true: the game is boring when too easy.

    Sure, learn the ropes on a level where you can comfortably win or try out new/different tactics. But if everytime you start the game you already know you've won, where's the challenge?

    To each their own I guess.
     
  4. aatami

    aatami Kuruth Urfarah, kuruth!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Finland
    Skill... Just as plain easy to explain as that.
     
  5. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    Wait a minute, are you saying that you have played Civ5 for over 300 hours and not ever selling luxury resources?!
     
  6. danieladler

    danieladler Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Also,waging wars and force civs to pay you huge amounts of gold for peace is sometimes profitable. In a recent emperor game i got over 60 000 gold from the mongols.

    Yes the AI has ridiculous amounts of gold on the levels beyond emperor, not to mention the sick happiness bonuses the AI gets. But it was the same with the much praised civ4; you get to a point where moving beyond a certain difficulty level just means that the AI gets too silly bonuses, not getting any smarter. Its seems as its impossible for the game developers to create a smart AI. Rather they settle with giving the AI higher and higher bonuses. Either Firaxis are just lazy or it still isnt possible to create smarter artificial intelligence in games such as Civ.
     
  7. Tabarnak

    Tabarnak Cut your lousy hairs!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Québec
    Not true.

    Yes you can.

    You can have both for emperor or lower. Almost all buildings, some wonders, and lot of units. Riversided cities are needed tho.

    Here si how(check Egypt example some post below strat, with no RAs and lux for gold since it's multiplayer) : http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=415715

    But not optimal. Just showing that is possible to set up a civ and maximizing production(hammers) in first glance, letting you to build everything on a short timeframe and get a lot of money with marktets and National treasury.
     
  8. Resident Mario

    Resident Mario Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    NYC
    @Fabiano1979: When you go small with 4 cities and build gold with Open Borders/Luxury Resources selloffs, you can run every building in the game in your cities, with as much as 60 GPT left off anyway. It all depends on your strategy, your land, the map, etc. etc.

    I had the SAME exact problem when I started out. Problem was that I was still spamming roads a la Civ 4 style (quickly remidied) and was never building Trade Posts, opting for Market/Bank/Stock Exchange to keep me afloat. That forces you to build those buildings as soon as they come out, and once you get past the Economics + Stock Exchange bonuses, there are no more techs increasing gold, at least not directly (for example Hospital gives +5 Food which can be used to run 2 1/2 Merchant Specialists, which generate +4 GPT and +3 GS points).

    Build Trading Posts. Found Coastal cities - with Lighthouse, every water tile is a +2 F +2 G oppertunity.

    Remember, you can sell open borders for 50 gold and your excess resources for 280+ gold. One game I was raking in 3200 gold every 30 turns by auctioning all my excesses off.
     
  9. Jim Bro

    Jim Bro Emperor of Quebec

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Quebec
    i abandoned my game. i was in 1806 and the french had just built a city (1 pop only) in my sphere of influence when i decided to take it. however, it had 27 def while my nearest city from them has 4 pops with a castle and a wall and yet has only 28 def. how can they have 27 def with 1 pop and no def buildings? just dumb. i'll never play the iroquois again and screw hard games. however, this game was hard for me (i was the worst player on 8!). i wonder how i won at prince with Greece that easily.. weird. i'm done with this thread thx for tips though.
     
  10. Catastrophe90

    Catastrophe90 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    They could have brought some Walls and/or Castle via gold. If they settled on a hill, had the Kremlin and/or the SP that increases city strength by 50%, they could easily reach 28 Strength with a pop 1 city. You can do that too you know, pop down a city, buy a bunch of defensive buildings/a ranged or siege unit and use it as some kind of super citadel.
     
  11. jagdtigerciv

    jagdtigerciv Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    468
    I often play Epic, on Large to Huge maps on Immortal, with 2 additional civs than default. I find what keeps me playing civ is continually trying to improve my game -- trying to squeeze every little thing out of my civilization.

    In my experience, I have noticed that continual growth of population truly is the key. If you can stack huge income from trade routes alone on hugely populated cities, you can easily get into +50-100 gold income in Renaissance and beyond.
     
  12. Bat-LB

    Bat-LB Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Are you guys serious? Im playing Emperor most of the time and I have always 10+ happiness and +20< gold per round.

    Try to sell not used ressources and dont build useless streets or useless military units. dont hold too many workers. its not so hard, i think its a part of learning.
     
  13. Tabarnak

    Tabarnak Cut your lousy hairs!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Québec
    About workers. It's better to have them earliest as possible because maintenance cost is lower before rennaissance era. Try to improve most tiles as possible until then before disbanding some to reduce maintenance later. If you will know that some cities will never get pop 10 and running like 2 specialist, you can disband worker after 8-9 tiles improved.
     
  14. Kaosprophet

    Kaosprophet Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    I find that both are true: too easy is just as bad as too hard, and vice versa.
     
  15. Gordon Brittas

    Gordon Brittas Blackadder's Half Brother

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Can't you sell buildings if you are running low on GPT?
    I don't know, never had that problem.
     
  16. TheHarshax

    TheHarshax Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    The Great Midwest
    I'm not sure how the OP is playing, but I'm usually flush with cash on King and higher.

    I think the poster needs to learn how to trade?
     

Share This Page