1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem uploading to Steam (SOLVED)

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Creation & Customization' started by UncivilizedGuy, Nov 11, 2017.

  1. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Center of the Universe
    I'm attempting to post a new mod to Steam using the uploader tool but all of a sudden I get an error message. The error occurs when I select a Mod Package. This is the first time I have experienced this.

    upload_2017-11-11_11-26-35.png

    What I have done so far in an attempt to resolve the issue:

    • I have rebooted my pc.
    • Uninstalled and reinstalled the development tools.
    • Logged in and out of Steam.
    • Verified the SDK files
    • uninstalled and reinstalled Visual Studio 2010
    Anyone have any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 11, 2017
  2. ITcore

    ITcore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
    Double and triple check your modinfo file. I remember this happening to me before but I'm sorry to say I don't remember the fix. It might have been a bad Mod ID but I can't remember for sure.
     
  3. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Center of the Universe
    I tried changing the GUID but it didn't work. That happened to me once before and I got a different message. When I click the debug button it says there's a problem with the steam workshop.net framework. So I installed the newest version of .net framework and it's still not working. I'm doing a system restore at the moment. I'll let you know how that turns out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2017
  4. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Center of the Universe
    Boy do I love learning things the hard way. As it turns out the problem was with the modinfo file. I didn't have it organized properly. :rolleyes:

    The mod loaded into the game properly before I attempted the upload to Steam. For this reason I didn't think the modinfo was the problem.
     
  5. ITcore

    ITcore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Gender:
    Male
    The Workshop Uploader is so finicky. Glad you got it going, though.
     
  6. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Center of the Universe
    Thanks for your advice :goodjob:
     
  7. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,555
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
  8. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Center of the Universe
    Too be honest it was a careless copy-and-paste job.

    Spoiler :

    Original Text

    <InGameActions>
    <UpdateDatabase id="ModernIndustryComponent">
    <Properties>
    <LoadOrder>3</LoadOrder>
    </Properties>
    <File>Modern Industry.xml</File>
    </UpdateDatabase>
    <Icons id="Modern_Industry_Icons">
    <Items>

    <File>Modern Industry Icons.xml</File>
    </Items>
    </Icons>
    </InGameActions>

    After copying I deleted the Icons table. And it looked something like this:

    <InGameActions>
    <UpdateDatabase id="ModernIndustryComponent">
    <Properties>
    <LoadOrder>3</LoadOrder>
    </Properties>
    </InGameActions>


     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop