1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

problem with scenariops involving multiple events!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Technical Support' started by Maniacal, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    in scenarios with multiple events files, when i open the ms-dos bach file it only opens for 1 second, then it closes, it took me 5 mins to get a screenshot of the words, which r only on the screen for .1 seconds. :mad: :mad: as such, in games like cross&crecent and imperial rome, i can not get the events 2 work....can someone help me please? :sad:
     
  2. Catfish

    Catfish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,394
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
    You're running Windows XP, right? The choice command used in those batch files is not supported by the Windows XP command line interpreter. To run such batch files under XP, you'll require the file, choice.com (attached). Put it in your scenario directory or better still in your c:\windows\system32 directory (assuming your operating system is installed on c: drive).
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
  4. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    thank you thank you thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  5. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
  6. jkastrin

    jkastrin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    What are the risks with putting the choice file in system32? Can I take it out again without permanent damage to the system? These Windows warnings are making me nervous.
     
  7. Mercator

    Mercator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,069
    It's completely harmless (unless of course it happens to be infected with a virus, but then it would cause problems wherever you put it). You can add/remove it without affecting anything else (except, of course, that the scenario batch files will stop working again).

    Choice.com is only used to be able to create multiple-choice menus on the command prompt.

    The reason that the system directory is preferred is that you'll only need one copy of choice.com. All batch files needing choice can find it.

    If you put choice.com in the scenario directory, only batch files in that same scenario directory can find it. So you'd need to put choice.com in every scenario folder that needs it.

    For the technically inclined: You can achieve the same thing as choice.com if you use SET /P instead. This works only on Windows NT/2000/XP. If you use this construct you avoid having to include choice.com with your scenario. You could do something like this in your batch file:

    (...)

    if "%OS%"=="Windows_NT" goto WinNT
    choice /c:123 Please choose an option

    if errorlevel 3 goto end
    if errorlevel 2 goto something_else
    if errorlevel 1 goto something

    :WinNT
    set /p choice=Please choose an option (1,2,3):

    if %choice%==1 goto something
    if %choice%==2 goto something_else
    if %choice%==3 goto end

    cls
    echo Your choice was invalid. Enter a number from 1 to 3.

    (...)
     
  8. Catfish

    Catfish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,394
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
    Good stuff, Merc. :goodjob: I recently implemented something like this in a few batch file installers - just in case you thought no-one was paying attention. ;)
     
  9. Mercator

    Mercator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,069
  10. Titi

    Titi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Location:
    Angola
    Hey, thanks for reviving this thread! I completely missed it the first time. Nice work!
     

Share This Page