Problems merging a Mod containing Bug and CivSpecific Great People mod

LoneTraveller

Warlord
Hi,

I'm relatively new at python and I'm trying to merged the 2 mods named in the title. So far I can in the logs that all the files (modules) are being loaded but I don't see that the required function is being ''looked up'' (according to the tutorial : http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/civ4bug/index.php?title=Tutorial:_Events). So I figure that my event type is wrong. The function I need to implement is 'onGreatPersonBorn' but I don't see it in the BugEventManager.py file. I think I need to know how to implement it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

You can see what onGreatPersonBorn() receives in its argsList parameter by looking in CvEventManager.py. It's best to copy that function to your own new Python module as a global function not inside a class. To do this

1. Copy the function from CvEventManager.py to a new module.
  2. Remove one level of indentation (tab) from the entire function.
  3. Remove the "self" parameter.
The result for this function will look something like this:

Code:
# MyCoolMergedMod.py

def onGreatPersonBorn(argsList):
	# extract the three parameters from the list
	pUnit, ePlayer, pCity = argsList
	... your code ...

Finally you must register this function as an event handler for "greatPersonBorn" in BUG. This part is covered in the tutorial you linked and will look something like this:

Code:
<mod id="MyCoolMergedMod" module="MyCoolMergedMod">
    <event type="greatPersonBorn" function="onGreatPersonBorn"/>
</mod>

That's exactly how things are. I have a file named CvCivSpecificGreatPeopleModEventManager.py that contains the function onGreatPersonBorn(argsList) located in the "Python/Contrib" folder that looks like this (everything is indentated, it just doesn't show itself correctly in this post) :

Code:
## Sid Meier's Civilization 4
## Copyright Firaxis Games 2005

from CvPythonExtensions import *
import PyHelpers