1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Production Saving

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by jecjackal, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. jecjackal

    jecjackal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    This is a dumb question but is Production ever saved when you switch tasks or is it always lost? For example If i start building a settler then switch to a granary did I just waste my time?

    Thanks,

    Jec
     
  2. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    It's saved, although there are some caveats like Great Engineers not producing overflow. Switch ahead!
     
  3. vale

    vale Mathematician

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    San Antonio
    It is saved in the project you switched out of. So if you had 50 hammers invested in the Settler the game remembers that. However certain projects will have the hammers decay over time if you ignore them for long enough.

    From observation, I think that it works like Civilization IV hammer decay. That is:

    Units start to decay after 10 turns of inactivity. They lose 2% of their hammers rounded up each turn.

    Buildings start to decay after 50 turns of inactivity. They lose 1% of their hammers rounded up each turn.

    I'm not sure about Wonders.
     
  4. jecjackal

    jecjackal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5
  5. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    I didn't even know about this, decay mechanic, thanks!
     

Share This Page