Prophets and holy wars

skallben

Diplomat
I normally play as a passive-aggresive builder, my early wars used to be started by the AIs declaring on me. G&K changed it all.
I like to found religions, my neighbors like to send Great Prophets into my borders. This is since G&K a very common reason why I declare war. My neighbor in my current game got religious texts and on top of that spreads it like wildfire with prophets and missionaries.
I wish diplomacy would include things like asking brothers in faith to go to war or at least the same option as the AI; to be able to tell them to stay the hell away.

So how many holy wars do you start?

Generally speaking, none. I almost always get either religious texts or itinerant preachers, plus enough prophets to seed my religion around the world and knock opposing religions around.

I've declared war maybe once or twice to stop an opposing GP, but more often I have just had/bought an inquisitor.

However I have used up a prophet's spread usage back-to-back at an opponents city : go there, convert it, his own GP converts it back, I convert it again, etc. etc. til one of our gp's is gone. That's kind of a holy war.

None. I usually use inquisitors to block them or other units to trap them with 1UPT. Recently I've been trapping a lot of units with 1UPT. It can get expensive, but if you need troops to be on standby anyway...

Generally speaking, none. I almost always get either religious texts or itinerant preachers, plus enough prophets to seed my religion around the world and knock opposing religions around.

I've declared war maybe once or twice to stop an opposing GP, but more often I have just had/bought an inquisitor.

However I have used up a prophet's spread usage back-to-back at an opponents city : go there, convert it, his own GP converts it back, I convert it again, etc. etc. til one of our gp's is gone. That's kind of a holy war.