1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

*Pssst* hey buddy, wanna buy my aqueduct?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by dannyevilcat, Sep 23, 2002.

  1. dannyevilcat

    dannyevilcat DESTROYER OF FURNITURE

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,714
    Location:
    Burnaby B.C.
    "Hmmm, maybe I was a little premature in building that aqueduct in that city. It's not goiing to grow at all. No problem, I'll just sell... WTF!? WHY CAN'T I SELL IT?!!!!"

    This was me earlier today, upon realizing for the first time ever that aqueducts can't be sold off. I've simply never had to before.

    This is really bad. If it requires maintance, I should be able to sell it, don't you think? It seems my civ is being run by the British Columbia NDP.
     
  2. Ohwell

    Ohwell Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    5,586
    Location:
    Bringing enlightenment to you
    Nice thread title! :lol: I noticed this a while ago. It is quite annoying when you want some easy cash!
     
  3. Sim_One

    Sim_One Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,073
    Here's what you could do. Boost science and luxury spending to the point where you will eventually have zero gold and where your improvements automatically get sold because you can't afford to maintain them, and see what happens to your aqueducts.
     
  4. dannyevilcat

    dannyevilcat DESTROYER OF FURNITURE

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,714
    Location:
    Burnaby B.C.
    S1m0ne, this would be hard to do. I'd have to dispose of over 20,000 gold first, and, well, that kind of defeats the purpose of saving a measly gold per turn ;)

    Thanks anyway :)
     
  5. WillJ

    WillJ Coolness Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe next time you should look to see if the city will grow to size seven BEFORE you build an aquaduct. ;) That's what I always do.
     
  6. Sim_One

    Sim_One Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,073
    Or you can just wait until railways improve you irrigations.
     
  7. dannyevilcat

    dannyevilcat DESTROYER OF FURNITURE

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,714
    Location:
    Burnaby B.C.
    Nah, that particular city is finished growing, period. I couldn't sleep, and I was blurry-eyed and bloated with money and in the middle of a golden age (not a pretty combination :lol: ), so I wasn't exactly paying much attention.

    But that's not the point. The point is that I have a perfectly good aqueduct and no one wants to take it off my hands. You can have it for free! All the water you'll ever need!
     
  8. WillJ

    WillJ Coolness Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Location:
    USA
    :lol: Yeh, I get your point. I also don't see why you can't sell or give away aquaducts or hospitals. I could see why you couldn't if the city is over size 7 or 12, but not when it's under that size.
     
  9. The Yankee

    The Yankee The New Yawker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    19,467
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I'll buy it for 3 cents and a handful of pocket lint....deal?

    Yeah, it does kinda defeat the purpose...since you already spent the shields on it when you could have built a unit or two or something else.
     
  10. Fr8monkey

    Fr8monkey Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    In the world of tomorrow!!
    Being a long time ally of the U.S., you could let the American Government take care of it. I'm sure 20,000 gold wouldn't last too long:lol:
     
  11. Major Guevara

    Major Guevara OldMajor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    Sweden
    Maybe you cant sell it because if you could you would just sell it after your city grows over size 6.....Maybe
     
  12. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    But according to the Free Trade accords we have in place, as soon as he sells one Aqueduct, he'd have to allow the sale of all of them. :D
     
  13. Plume

    Plume Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    What I hate the most about this is when I capture an enemy city that has an aqueduct but: the city is in the toundra (so its only way to grow is through the sea squares but that's going to take a million years) and of course, the city is about a million miles away from my capital so it's completely corrupt anyway. Maybe I should just disband it... That pocket lint sounds pretty good now...

    By the way, the city is size less than 7 obviously (otherwise we shouldn't be able to sell the aqueduct, that would be ok).
     
  14. Exsanguination

    Exsanguination No longer here

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Where this man is
    have you tried shrinking the city down to below size 6 and then selling it? not sure if it'll work, but its worth a shot.
     
  15. Bobela XII

    Bobela XII AI Hunter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    Maybe Firaxis realized that nobody in their right mind would buy the aqueduct you wanted to sell.
     
  16. MSGT John Drew

    MSGT John Drew freight train lover

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    in a pineapple under the sea
    hmmm... I always thought that you couldn't sell it after you hit size 7 but now I don't know... maybe it can never be sold.

    Try this...

    Abandon all your cities except one with an aqueduct.
    Research 100% to get a deficit.
    Give away all your money.
    Disband all your units.
    Now keep watch and note what improvements do not get destroyed through lack of maintenance.

    I'm guessing the aqueduct and the hospital. Can you sell hospitals?
     
  17. Catt

    Catt Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    California - SF Bay Area
    I've never been able to sell an aqueduct or hospital. You've also probably noticed that you don't ever destroy these improvements when you capture a city. I think it is hard-coded that once built it will always remain (and you will always have the maintenence) until the city is destroyed or abandoned.
     
  18. Lt. 'Killer' M.

    Lt. 'Killer' M. Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,475
    This is even the same when you take an AI city - can't sell the aqueduct and hospital :(
     
  19. Evincar

    Evincar Iron works is a legend!!

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    Guadalajara, Spain
    Yes, even when I poprush/starve the SOB's to size 1, the hospital is still there, and can't be sold...makes modern conquest a bit expensive.
     
  20. YippyYopYop

    YippyYopYop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    The answer to this is simple: just nuke the city until the undesired buildings are incinerated. It should only take 1 or 2 nukes to get the job done. You might want to remove any military units in the city before doing this.
     

Share This Page