Public school teacher wanting feedback

Joshua Warren

Chieftain
Hi all, so I will try to keep this to bullet points

1. I am a public middle school teacher currently teaching Social Studies in a Title 1 Middle School in Los Angeles County, California. I teach 7th, which is world history from roughly fall of the W. Roman empire (476?) to 1750s..ish
2. I am currently working with 2 other history teachers at the high school level (10th grade, which is world history from 1750's..ish till modern, and 11th which is US history from 1850's until modern). And an Vice Principle who is NOT a history teacher, but likes the idea of what we are doing.
3. (please don't be upset at us or judge on the divisions and timelines, they are state and federally mandated, we all know there are so many better ways to work with and interpret history, and so many things that are being left out, just trying right now to work in what is required by law in our state and country)
4. I want ANY AND ALL of your thoughts, ideas, criticisms, and musings on using Civ 5 in the classroom as a way of teaching historical concepts.
5. I am picking Civ 5 specifically because it is what I have a computer lab of 36 computers ready to go with my students, that is just the variant the district picked for us, please don't take it as a personal affront.
6. I and the three other aforementioned people will be reading the responses even though this is just one account, we promise to read all, respond to some and dismiss none, no matter how critical.
7. Please feel free to PM with any questions or issues, we will respond.