1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Punt civilization 2.1

Play as Ati, Queen of the Punt.

  1. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)


    Punt civilization

    Leader: Queen Ati

    Civilization Trait: Souks of Ta-Netjer: Floodplains do not block placement of commercial hubs, which are provided with an adjacency bonus from all floodplain and oasis tiles. +1 gold for each city following Punt's religion.

    Leader Trait: Queen of Pwenet: Gains an additional economic government slot. Incoming trade routes from other civilizations provide +2 gold for the Punt.

    Leader Agenda: Money Gubber: Ati tries to have the highest income; she likes civilizations with a high income, but doesn't like civilizations with a low income.

    Unique unit: Pwenet Tribesman (replaces archer): Faster than the archer and has no upkeep costs.

    Unique building: Stele (replaces monument): In addition to the monument's culture bonus, the stele creates +2 housing.

    This is a complete civilization, including diplo screen, diplomacy text, artwork. Thanks to deliverator for the Pwenet Tribesman (based on his Hyksos Bowman) and to Numitor for the Punt icon.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  2. boudinithecivilized

    boudinithecivilized Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    This is very well balanced, nice job.
     
  3. MongolMongol

    MongolMongol Great Khan of the Yurts

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    British Mandate of Palestine
    Very interesting...
     
  4. DreadHerring

    DreadHerring Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Does the game differentiate between the Punt_text.xml and Punt_Config_Text.xml files? Some things like the civilization and leader name are doubled in these files. Good job, and I agree, it looks balanced!
     
  5. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    It does. The game requires the config text for the initial game set-up and dawn of man screen, then requires the regular text for the game itself. If you check the MODINFO file, you'll see these are defined separately. In Civ 5 any duplication meant neither text file would load, but it doesn't seem to be the case in Civ 6 as long as they are defined separately.
     
  6. Mav12

    Mav12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    White Plains, NY
    Dose the art default to Teddy and Celo automatically or is some file changed?, Im not seeing anything like that in the files. (Im trying to create a civ based off this, and the issue Im running into is a crash when the loading screen is supposed to appear and I noticed there isnt anything to say what screen to load in the files)
     
  7. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,926
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    The UI files that compose the load screen and the leaderscene make Teddy and Cleo the default, respectively. Nothing that this mod specifically sets.
     
  8. LanguishViking

    LanguishViking Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    When you get the leader art ready Eti needs to be ridiculously fat



    because the egyptians thought it was awesome and her image at jeser jeseru (iirc) is one of the few possibly only realistic to life piece of egyptian art
     
    Narvana and retrocity5 like this.
  9. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    It's not going to happen. Call it artistic license or whatever you want. I was aware of the image you've attached, but I'm keeping her as she is thank-you.
     
    Narvana and Ferocitus like this.
  10. LanguishViking

    LanguishViking Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    awe, c'mon, when Ma'at Kah Re Hapshepshut sent the mission to Punt she felt it necessary to report three things about it to her people on Jeser Jeseru, 1 There was Frankincense, 2 There was Myrr and 3 Holy **** their Queen was super fat!

    Can you at least make an artifact, "The Fat Queen of Punt" giving 1 tourism in the ancient era?
     
  11. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    I don't think that the artifact is appropriate. When we are able to add art and resources, I may make the "Queen of Pwenet" have the +2 gold component and three units of frankincense - then give the free government slot to Parahu as an alternative leader.
     
    Ferocitus likes this.
  12. lionbadger

    lionbadger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Many thanks for making this Mod Rob, I was able to use it as a base to make my own Civ!
     
  13. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Great stuff lionbadger! The main reason I put it up was to demonstrate how to create a basic civ.
     
    TonyBiH likes this.
  14. MongolMongol

    MongolMongol Great Khan of the Yurts

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    British Mandate of Palestine
    Oh yeah, the civ really helps me to develop my mods, it is a nicely made base.
     
  15. Gedemo

    Gedemo Cacique

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    France
    Thanks! thanks to you I've made a civ. I have a question about the modinfo file: your mod ID is <Mod id="0a806d19-cfc8-4054-9e52-4af173416045" version="1">.
    Because I'd just rewritten your files, what can I do with your Mod ID? Do I need to change it or where can I find a new one (I don't have a mod editor other than civ 5 sdk)?
     
  16. DudewiththeFood

    DudewiththeFood Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Round the Corner
    @Gedemo, the Mod ID needs to change or else your mod an Punt will be incompatible. As far as the change goes, you only have to change a single value and it should work. It did for me anyway.

    @rob, thanks from me too. I never got more than a successful map from Civ 5 but I've already got the base of a civ working now. Just need to implement the various abilities.
     
  17. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    @Gedemo, you need a GUID generator. Apparently they're free online. All I've done is start off with a modID from Civ5 and changed a few characters at random each time I create a new mod.
     
  18. Aziris888

    Aziris888 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Punt civilization

    Hello! I am interested to add new topic about new civilization "Ukraine", but I can't create new topec in upper folder. Can you please create it, as you made it with Punt civilization?
    Name will be "Ukraine as new civilization in Civ6" and I will add new info there.
    Please help me, it is important.
     
  19. Meaniehead

    Meaniehead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    I love this mod. Personally, I'd add my name to the preference for a plus-sized ruler, but it's not that important to me compared to your wonderful skills in modding. What I have noticed (as I started on an island) is that Workers seem unable to embark as quickly as the Builders they replace. Builders embark at sailing, my Worker had to wait until Shipbuilding. Not sure if this is deliberate or not. Thanks again.
     
  20. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,551
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    You can only start a thread in this forum if you have a working mod to post. If you have, then you need to add it as a resource and the thread will open for you. If you're at the discussion stage, then you will need to open a thread in the main Creation and Customisation forum - you'll find that you're able to do so there.

    It wasn't deliberate - I'll look into that.
     

Share This Page