1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Python Performance and Interface Overhaul

Discussion in 'C2C mod mods' started by Toffer90, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Poland
    Seems like he forgot a file :p
     
  2. Anq

    Anq Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Anser (geese) HQ
    Hello, maybe this file "EntryPoints/CvScreensInterface.py"
    Add this change to Line 1302:
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Poland
    Now it works.
    Those icon bars could be moved to left, and civics, that aren't unlocked yet would be greyed out just like unbuildable buildings.
    Also pedia entries could be placed to right.
     
  4. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    Lol, I forgot to include one of the files I changed. Will fix asap.
    Exactly the change I forgot to add to the new upload. ^^

    Edit:
    Re-uploaded PPIO v0.6.1.4. I forgot to include a file.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Poland
    Red cross is fine too.

    Also I meant, that you could read about civic without right-clicking.
     
  6. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    As I said when announcing the last update, I will be making another tab that resembles the old civic screen closer.
    This is more of a "glance" tab that is supposed to be clean and simple, there's simply not enough dedicated space for any text windows in this tab, especially considering that the rows of civic icons can be "infinity" long.
    No matter how many new civics are added this screen will display them all correctly. With the exception of MAF crash due to too many interface elements loaded at once.

    Attached a picture of how it may look like with crossed out unavailable civs.
     

    Attached Files:

    raxo2222 likes this.
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Poland
    Ah so that is fine.
     
  8. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.5
    SVN rev.10541
    • Refined the new civic screen a bit.
      • It is now obvious which civics that are unavailable due to unfulfilled prereqs.
    • Optimized the code for the civic screen, like cleaning up memory usage when closing the screen, etc.
    Edit: { Next version is around the corner and will have this (see picture) alternative civic screen.
    You can switch between the two display layouts by clicking the scroll button in the upper left corner.

    The game will remember which layout you used last even after exiting to desktop.
    Civic screen Layout B.png }
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
    KaTiON_PT and raxo2222 like this.
  9. irishhombre

    irishhombre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    Very nice.
     
  10. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.6
    SVN rev.10541
    • Added a new civic screen layout.
      • I feel finished with the civic screen now, I will of course fix bugs if they show up.
      • The policy tab will be made at a much later point, got to figure out what kind of layout that would make sense for it first.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    raxo2222 and KaTiON_PT like this.
  11. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.7
    SVN rev.10545
    • Minor behavioral tweaks to the text based civic screen
    • I also added a compare functionality to it
     

    Attached Files:

    irishhombre, tmv and raxo2222 like this.
  12. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,916
    Location:
    Poland
    Good job at civic screen :D.

    Also @Dancing Hoskuld wanted to do something with it.
    I guess he still can suggest changes to it as he wanted to do some changes.

    Here I started in Ancient era to show how it looks with couple of civics already unlocked.
    Spoiler :

    Civ4BeyondSword 2019-04-22 11-49-42-83.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2019-04-22 11-49-47-20.jpg
    Civ4BeyondSword 2019-04-22 11-49-59-49.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2019-04-22 11-50-03-73.jpg
     
  13. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Portugal
    Much more responsive too.
     
  14. GiuseppeIII

    GiuseppeIII The Third Giuseppe

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    Love the new screen! Keep up the great work!
     
  15. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.8
    SVN rev.10551
    • Minor tweaks to building pedia pages code.
      • Mostly performance related.
    If anyone have UserSettings files generated on an old version of PPIO (like v0.6.1.4 or older), then I recommend that you delete your UserSettings folder and let it autogenerate with defaults (just start/load a game).
    Some really odd bugs can occur when there's old junk data in the UserSettings ini files.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
    raxo2222 likes this.
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.9
    SVN rev.10551
    • Fixed a packing mistake I made, where I managed to pack one of the MToS-PPIO compatibility patch python files into the PPIO mod.
      • Was a pretty important python file, CvEventManager.py.
      • This will fix not getting tribal guardian in first city and not getting free gatherer when researching gathering; as well as some other minor stuff.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
    Anq and raxo2222 like this.
  17. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    PPIO v0.6.1.10
    SVN rev.10551
    • Fixed unit action buttons not appearing when:
      1. Premise: Nothing selected
      2. First select city
      3. then select unit before un-selecting the city.
      4. Result: No unit action buttons....
    • Fixed units with national limits not reappearing in the build list when they should, like after planting a city with a tribe unit; or after removing a unit with national limit from the build queue.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    Snofru1 and raxo2222 like this.
  18. TaylorItaly

    TaylorItaly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Using latest SVN 10573 and your modmod.
    Had a crash to desktop.
    Seems it is realalted to your mod , as someone without your mod was able to end that turn,see post 3569 at Single Player Bugs.
     
  19. jiallombardo

    jiallombardo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Sorry for the late reply, but I've tried this, and it works nicely for some of the cases, but for others it doesn't. My gameplay experience with this mod is a little different -- I usually build a ton of cities and then sit around building and teching just for the fun of it (trying to build everything everywhere). Hence, I often need to select a group of cities to, for example, rush-buy something (for instance, I have a 100 cities, 10 of those have weak production, and I want to rush-buy a building in there, while other cities build the same building at an ok pace). For this case selecting cities each turn manually by shift-clicking is too much of a chore.

    So I want to ask -- is it possible for me to temporarily switch off this mod through a configuration change (completely switch it off, not partially), to perform this specific task, then switch it back on to continue playing? (I'm aware this would require restarting the game)
     
  20. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5,316
    Location:
    Norway
    Saw the discussion, someone (Anq) with PPIO reported to have played your save without problems, so I suppose the problem is on your side. Not much I can do without any error logs nor directions on how to replicate the crash.
    Edit: I loaded your save and played two turns just fine with PPIO.
    You could try to revert the domestic advisor to the old one, but turning off PPIO can only be done through re installing C2C completely.
    Spoiler To use the old domestic advisor you would need to make a few changes: (I can't promise that this will work) :
    "...\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Python\EntryPoints\CvScreensInterface.py"
    line 1284 ▬ import CvDomesticAdvisor
    → import CvCustomizableDomesticAdvisor​

    line 1296 ▬ CvDomesticAdvisor.CvDomesticAdvisor(DOMESTIC_ADVISOR)
    → CvCustomizableDomesticAdvisor.CvCustomizableDomesticAdvisor()​

    Then go into your SVN folder at "YourPathToSVN\Assets\Python\Screens" and find the original CvCustomizableDomesticAdvisor.py file.
    Copy that file into your working copy (the one you play from), which should be in "YourInstallPath\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Python\Screens"

    This may work, but it's quite possible that I forgot about some details that are important to this.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019

Share This Page