1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Python Performance and Interface Overhaul

Discussion in 'C2C mod mods' started by Toffer90, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. TaylorItaly

    TaylorItaly Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Does that also solve these errors ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    That may be related, maybe, maybe not, I don't get those errors so you tell me.

    PPIO v0.6.4.4.2
    SVN rev. 10672
    • Added SVN changes specifically from rev. 10672.
      • Should fix some big issues with german translation of the game with PPIO.
     
  3. TaylorItaly

    TaylorItaly Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    All updated, no "Bug" errors , but another display bug:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    I suspect that one is unrelated to PPIO, but I will look into the translation xml anyhow.
    Code:
    <TEXT>
        <Tag>TXT_KEY_MISC_ENEMY_UNIT_WITHDRAW</Tag>
        <English>A %s1_EnUName has withdrawn from combat with your %s2_UnitName!</English>
        <French>[NUM1:Le:La:Les:Les] %s1_EnUName [NUM1:ennemi a:ennemie a:ennemis ont:ennemies ont] fui le combat face à [NUM2:votre:votre:vos:vos] %s2_UnitName!</French>
        <German>[COLOR_POSITIVE_TEXT][NUM1:Euer:Eure:Euer:Eure:Eure:Eure] %s2:1_UnitName [NUM1:hat:haben] [NUM2:einen:eine:ein:einige:einige:einige] [NUM1:feindlichen:feindliche:feindliches:feindliche:feindliche:feindliche] %s1:4_EnUName zum Rückzug gezwungen![COLOR_REVERT]</German>
        <Italian>L'unità nemica %s1_EnUName si è ritirata dal combattimento contro l'unità nemica %s2_UnitName!</Italian>
        <Spanish>[NUM1:Un:Una:Unos:Unas] %s1_EnUName se [NUM1:ha:ha:han:han] retirado del combate contra [NUM2:vuestro:vuestra:vuestros:vuestras] %s2_UnitName.</Spanish>
        <Polish>%s1_EnUName uciekł z pola walki walcząc z Twoim %s2_UnitName!</Polish>
    </TEXT>
    I'm not sure what may be wrong, I'm not familiar enough with this text xml syntax to be honest.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
    TaylorItaly likes this.
  5. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    I suspected that it is a GUI issue, you made a new one. Additional text in line that is not translated blocking the call for the image. All these are either something with COLOR or with ICON. But anyways, if you get it fixed it's your thing by what way. (but linebreak I still find necessary instead dynamic size w/o line break. You put too much information in it, much more than before in C2C, and I still like the original C2C interface optic much mioe than your PPIO optic and design)

    Edit
    BTW: what charset is it in C2C/PPIO? 1252 or UTF8?

    GREAT :thumbsup:

    Edit 2
    for me the tooltipy stay as long as mouse in on the field in case, it should turn off after some time, as mouse is always on a field = always a tooltip up, this is nerfing
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  6. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    hä? what where?
     
  7. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    Linebreaks can be added to the text xml with [NEWLINE] if a line becomes longer than what one want for the tooltips it will be displayed in.
    Dll code that creates lines can use "\n" more than it currently does to limit the width of the lines it makes (e.g. when the dll makes a long list of stuff for the tooltip.).
    I think I made the max width of tooltips to be 2/5 of the screen resolution width. I will look into adding a BUG option for setting the max width to e.g. 2/5, 1/3, 1/4 and 1/5.
    in the text xml we use UTF-8, but in code it can bounce a bit forth and back between different encodings.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  8. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    2/5 ? NOOOOOOOOOO these are 760 px on a 1900 x1200 monitor, terrible. The width should not be much more than in C2C (see my screenshots).
    Also, maybe you can put in way to stop/start showing the tooltips for all fields so that it is possible to get it only if wanted concretefor a field..
     
    TaylorItaly likes this.
  9. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    Are you talking specifically about the tooltip for map-plots or for other things too. This is how it has always been in BtS and C2C though.

    I have played a bit with the idea of making it possible to hide tooltips, but I haven't decided on how to best go about it.
    A hotkey to toggle the tooltip, or a hotkey to hide the tooltip once or a hotkey to show the tooltip once with the tooltip being off by default, perhaps a BUG option to switch between hide as default or show as default, which hotkey, can't be ctrl/alt/shift as they are already used to modify tooltip content, can't be a mouse hotkey as python 2.4b1 does not have a good way to detect mouse clicks.... etc.
    768 px on my screen, but still only 40% of the screen. ^^
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
    TaylorItaly likes this.
  10. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    in PPIO a tooltip of a map field is up as long as the mouse is on the plot, means, there is always a tooltip up, in C2C it closes after a time. This is what I miss in PPIO.
     
  11. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    Does it close on its own without PPIO... Huh, didn't know that.

    Edit: I can't get the map-plot tooltip to close without PPIO, waited for 5 minutes...
    Though the tooltip that is not fixed in the corner, those that occur for other stuff close to where the mouse is does disappear after about 24 seconds.
    But isn't that just annoying, you rarely have your mouse over something for that long if you weren't doing it to study the tooltip text...
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  12. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    yes, after ~ 20-30 sec, that is very relaxing. Tooltip alway up ist nerfig.
     
  13. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    Nerfig?
     
  14. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    sorry, have to correct myself. It does not fade out, just checked it. but see screenshot here, as it is very little and transparent it doesn't bother, while yours is too big and obtrusive and makes me flustered, simply annoying (nerfig)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    The tooltip in that particular screenshot would actually be a bit smaller with PPIO. ^^
    Assuming the same font type and size that is. Seeing as it is wider than the content demands it to be.
    Though I get what you mean; I will add in a BUG option for the tooltip max width setting.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  16. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    ok, then more transparent, other font, no blue, and we're reach the target, maybe :trophy:.
     
  17. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    still something to do :nono:
    SVN 10678 with PPIO v0.6.4.4.2
     

    Attached Files:

    • 001.jpg
      001.jpg
      File size:
      328.1 KB
      Views:
      20
  18. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    I can't replicate it, though I tried on revision 10679.

    PPIO v0.6.4.5
    SVN rev. 10679
    • Adapted to latest SVN revision.
      • Only some xml schema location reference changes.
    • Reduced max width of tooltip from 40% to 33.33% of screen width size.
      • Seems to be enough to deal with tooltips disappearing off screen problem.
    • Transferred some unit tooltip text about promotion stats from MToS into PPIO that are more concise to reduce the width of unit tooltips in some cases.
      • e.g.
        • <English>[ICON_BULLET]%D1_Change cause to be capable of Assassination Missions</English>
      • is now:
        • <English>[ICON_BULLET]Trait - Assassination: %D1_Change</English>
      • e.g.
        • <English>[ICON_BULLET]%D1_Change cause for the unit to capable of Defense only. (If invisible, allows the unit to move through units they would normally attack.)</English>
      • is now:
        • <English>[ICON_BULLET]Trait - Defense only: %D1_Change</English>
      • And a dozen more similar cases.
      • There shouldn't be explainations like "(If invisible, allows the unit to move through units they would normally attack.)" in the unit tooltip. such explanations should be in the pedia concept category and in the specific promotion pedia page as a STRATEGY text.
     
    KaTiON_PT, TaylorItaly and raxo2222 like this.
  19. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    I made a new SVN install along with new PPIO (SVN 10678 with PPIO v0.6.4.4.2), but I'm going now to test it again with new 10679. + 9.6.4.5.
    The one which is most disturbing that is the upper left COLOR_POSITIVE_TEXT, the other I can ignore. (I recommend you set this two lines back to the C2C original, if you can't finx it.)
    will be back soon
     
  20. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    Norway
    They are C2C original. They are actually BtS original as C2C never modded that text xml entry.
    Both I and @TaylorItaly replicated the problem you had and then confirmed that the fix for it worked; so I'm thinking something might have gone wrong on your side during installation.
    Perhaps you copied the files from v0.6.4.4.1 instead of from v0.6.4.4.2 after updating the SVN?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019

Share This Page